We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel for Events”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel for Events”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I had the opportunity of staying for a week at JW Marriott Desert Ridge and let me tell you that is great ... in everything, services, rooms, facilities. A good place to stay. As part of a congress held there it was interesting to see how a great hotel can make the difference.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mauricio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,608
    677
    182
    54
    43
See reviews for
675
514
58
890
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

Beautiful resort in thee middle of the desert! Clean, great rooms, awesome pools and wonderful golf course! Will stay there again if I get the opportunity! Close to shopping! Spa was everything you would expect from a Marriott. Timely, clean, and best of all...Tranquil!

Room Tip: Our. Room faced the mountains and it was beautiful! Sunrise and sunsets were breathtaking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The service at this hotel is like no other. From the minute you step into the lobby until you check-out, the people and staff of this hotel ensure your stay is perfect. The hotel rooms are clean and very roomy, the restaurant staff is phenomenal (I ate at every one during my 5 day stay) and they really go out of your way to give you the best experience of your life. I really cannot say enough. I have traveled a lot for business and have stayed at some of the best hotels in North America and this hotel blows the others out of the water in terms of top notch service.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fashionfinds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
179 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Its February and the Phoenix air is cool at night and perfect through the day. But what is most amazing at this resort is how the staff, including the receptionists, the spa employees, the waiters and servers, the house keeping people all made my wife and I feel like we were the only guests in the entire place. There are 2000 guest at any given time. Example, we purchased a Spa CD that was damaged. Its late, 8, we leave the next day and will not be able to take it back for an exchange. The staff had a new CD in our room. Another example, my wife liked the lotion supplied in our room and asked some one at the front desk where we could buy it. It was not available on the grounds but the Manager at the desk had ten bottles of the lotion brought to our room compliments of the hotel to take home. The spa lap pool is heated so even though the temps are cool, I swam laps early in the morning by myself in an extrodinary setting. Dinner at Roy's was outstanding. We will be back. We used Marriott points for our stay so the only cost was the golf and food.

Room Tip: Get a room on the North side on a high floor to see the mountains
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
331 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We had quite a few Marriott Rewards points, so decided to use them to stay at this incredible JW Marriott Resort for three nights. I wish I could remember the name of the young man who helped me with the reservation, using points. All reservationists should be so knowledgeable and patient.

After driving from Kansas in unusually cold temperatures for the South, it was a pleasure to arrive at this resort. We couldn’t enjoy the beautiful vegetation, though, because of record lows and everything was covered in sheets. What an unusual sight!

We arrived early and were told that the hotel was overbooked! There was a huge convention being held there – they even had an enormous carpet in the lobby with their logo. Of course, we were very dismayed when the clerk told us we would have to stay at another place the first night, but we would be given a room in the resort for the other two nights. (I imagined having to travel across Phoenix to another hotel.) She then allayed my fears by saying we were booked into the Marriott Vacation Club Canyon Villas just across the street. The condo was very spacious with a full kitchen, huge bedroom, bathroom, living and dining room, and balcony overlooking the pool area. The only “inconvenience” was having to use the shuttle to go back and forth to the resort.

The next morning, after breakfast in the condo, Jamie, the very efficient, friendly desk clerk worked quickly to get us checked into our room. For our inconvenience, we were upgraded to a King Executive Suite, given a $50 credit to use, and the first day’s resort fee was waived. Our suite consisted of a huge living area; huge king bedroom w/ excellent linens and wonderful robes; extra large bathroom w/ huge towels; a balcony overlooking the courtyard and a sliver of the golf course. It was also immaculate, quiet, and well maintained. The friendly staff and service made this a fantastic 3-day stay.

We also used the beautiful outdoor pool area. I think there are five pools as well as a floating river. The heated water in the pool made for a most enjoyable swimming experience. We also had lunch by the pool at the “Dining with a Splash” outdoor café. It was excellent.

Breakfasts in the Blue Sage Restaurant were also excellent. Each morning we had Jennifer as a waitress and she made us feel so welcome. The bird or two flying around did not bother us in the least. We also ate dinner at Roy’s Restaurant located in the resort, and this was an outstanding dining experience. Our three-day stay could not have been better. We felt pampered by the excellent, friendly, efficient staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KansasHummingbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
131 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Quiet location north of Phoenix and about 20 minutes from Scottsdale. The rooms are comfortable and nicely appointed. On site restaurants are good, albeit typically "hotel expensive."

The service is great...exactly what you'd expect from a JW Marriott. Any problems are immediately resolved.

Take note, though. This hotel does a ton of convention business, so don't expect a quiet hotel. To that point, if you have a room that overlooks one of the outdoor bars, be prepared for lots of evening noise. The hotel rooms are NOT well soundproofed!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NumbersAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knoxville, tn
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Excellent Service. Beautiful grounds. Gorgeous public spaces and a convenient location for exploring other parts of Arizona make this resort a true gem in the desert. The staff was unbelievable in their consistency to be polite, friendly and proper all at the same time. The restaurants are reasonably priced for a resort and the tropical cocktails at Roy's are amazing at $6 during happy hour. I dreaded leaving and can't wait to go back. Not a bad thing to say. Go as soon as you can (especially if it's cold and wet where you are) and plan to stay as long as possible !

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#12 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing