We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Love This Property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Ranked #10 of 178 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Love This Property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We have stayed at this Property for the past 3 years for a week. The rooms are wonderful and updated including baths. The property restaurants make leaving for dining very hard. I love love the gym and spa pool area, including the spa cafe. Starbucks is located in the lobby. You will love this hotel and so much to do here.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms that face the restaurant side but may be louder with the band that plays on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nertzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,438
    621
    167
    51
    39
See reviews for
618
463
52
781
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (562)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
philadelphia, pa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The JW Marriott Desert Ridge Resort in Phoenix is an amazing place to stay. I was here for 3 days for business and I loved it. The only disappointment was that the water slide was closed due to it being early March, therefore "off season". We are from Philadelphia and it's very cold there in march, so, 70-80 degree weather was summer to us, but cold to Phoenix! We still had a wonderful time and my room was gorgeous. The outdoor seating for the restaurant was fantastic and we ate outside 2 nights in a row. I'd highly recommend it!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ak195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, la
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed here for a conference. Everything was great. Staff, rooms, food, etc. Comfortable bed. CLEAN room!! In room fridge was nice to have. Stayed for 5 nights, never left the hotel. Ate on property entire time. Can get a little pricey, however the price of a cab would have been the same. Forgot my swimsuit, found a great one in the spa boutique. Loved the pool. Only thing we would have liked would have been later poolside service, it ended at 5:30 and we would have enjoyed it much later. Great conference hotel. Loved all the restaurants. Worth the money. Tip: share entrees at the Italian place, servings are huge.

Room Tip: hotel is very big.. Get a room closer to elevator to reduce walking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank raejean24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

My family has been going to Desert Ridge for years now. It is our favorite place, and we look forward to coming back again and again. The hotel is beautiful, the Canyon Villas are amazing, the spa is possibly my favorite place on earth, and the food and drinks are outstanding. Recommendations: Start the day out on the lazy river, and be sure to snag a Kokopeli Kolada or two. Don't forget to explore all the grounds, there are gardens, golf courses; I find something new every time I go. For dinner, go no farther than Roy's. If I could eat there every night of my life, I would. Get the butterfish. After dinner, sit in or outside the lobby, listen to live music and enjoy the peaceful bliss that is Desert Ridge. The best time to go is during the off season when it is less crowded and quiet. During peak seasons it can get packed with families and children. However, if you are a family looking for a vacation spot then the peak season may be for you. Any time is a great time though, I can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: I don't think there is a bad room here, every room has a view of something beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This is the first time I've stayed at a JW. Have stayed at many Marriotts, and Ritz Carlton hotels. I was very pleasantly surprised at the quality of the hotel, and the service. This resort was the quality of a good Ritz Carlton. As far as amenities, the resort has two 18 hole golf courses, several restaurants, and of course pool and spa. The room was beautiful, large, and clean, as were the resort grounds. Overall, and excellent place for a few days of golf and sun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dan62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castle Pines, Colorado
Level Contributor
197 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Maybe we were overly impressed with the lobby Christmas Decorations, but this hotel ranks at the top of our list along with other JW hotels. From the moment one pulls into the driveway, you know you are in for a first class experience and nothing disappoints. The only place we have been that equals the experience we had is The Broadmoor in Colorado Springs. The JW staff is outstanding in terms of friendliness and service. The rooms are quiet and comfortable. The lobby and grounds are well done and maintained. The workout facilities are excellent. The golf courses are well worth the price. The Blue Sage and Tuscany restaurants were outstanding. We were on a package deal as a part of a group for a golfing trip. In all respects, this was a first class experience.

Room Tip: We were on the first floor in a handicap room. We never heard a sound and it was convenient to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Walt and Gwynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My company holds their annual conference here. I liked it so much the first year that the next my husband and daughter flew out to make a vacation out of it. It is such an ideal venue for our conferences that we are renting out the entire hotel for this year's conference. The classy and scenic grounds, pool areas, and lazy river are perfect for R&R after the long days of seminars, training, and networking. I was particularly fond of taking my breakfast outdoors, though we did leave the grounds for some variety at dinner-time. If you are in the mood (and can afford) to splurge and pamper yourself and get a taste of the southwest, I'd recommend it! Cheers, Lauren

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GnLAnderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Phoenix
Desert Ridge
Marriott's Canyon Villas
Marriott's Canyon Villas
#7 of 178 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 stars 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa
Address: 5350 E Marriott Drive, Phoenix, AZ 85054-6147
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Desert Ridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
#4 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#9 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 950
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Without peer among Phoenix resorts, the award-winning, AAA 4-Diamond JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa welcomes guests to its stunning 316 acres in the Sonoran Desert. Our captivating resort takes you to a place where luxury, personal service, invigorating recreation and excellent dining are in abundance. Guest rooms and suites feature private balconies or patios with dramatic desert vistas, mountain views, and tech-friendly amenities. This premier resort also impresses with the award-winning Revive Spa and championship Wildfire Golf Club, home to the LPGA Founders Cup. Families, couples and friends will find a variety of activities designed for all ages including our Wildfire Pool Complex complete with Lazy River and water-slide. Or just relax and enjoy each others company indoors or outside on one of many patios with our inviting fire-pits overlooking the resort's waterways. Among the leading North Phoenix, Arizona resorts, JW Marriott Desert Ridge is your one-stop vacation haven. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Phoenix Desert Ridge Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort And Spa Phoenix
Jw Marriott Desert Ridge Resort & Spa Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Jw Marriott Phoenix
Marriott Phoenix
Phoenix Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing