We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Hotel in Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #50 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We recently stayed here on business. The location was great, less than a mile walk to Chase Field and the Suns stadium and a ton to do in that area. Hotel was just average, nothing bad just didn't stand out. Loved that it had free wifi (pet peeve) and the breakfast was good. Staff was very helpful!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bmeaney29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (194)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 194 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I have stayed here twice. We were happy with the accommodations both times. The hotel is not the newest -- there are signs of wear here and there -- but it is comfortable and clean. The breakfast is the usual fare but it is plentiful. The internet connection won't do for streaming movies but it's fine for web browsing, YouTube, and e-mail. The real attraction, though, is the service. The staff is as good as I have found in 5-star hotels both in the US and abroad. And Bree, the person who was working the front desk when we first arrived, is an absolute star. Whatever they're paying her -- it's not enough. She is a fantastic representative of this particular hotel and of the whole Holiday Inn Express chain.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dennis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I was here as part of a room block set up by a meeting organizer. The hotel is convenient and clean but the staff are friendly and very accommodating! After finding out that my flight home was cancelled due to NEMO they were quick and responsive -- and gave me two extra nights at the lower block rate. The breakfast staff in particular were wonderful and friendly -- offered to take plates, refill coffee, etc. The room itself was typical for a HIE, the bathroom door was a little awkward (opens out) but not a problem. Close to AZ Center and a short walk to the stadium, etc.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank farmview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2012

Very standard Holiday Inn Express with all you need and no surprise. Good value, including breakfast and free internet. Nice and friendly staff. Not the kind of location I would recommend for a romantic trip, though.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luc V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

I stayed here at a conference for two nights and really liked this hotel. Staff was courteous, caring, and helpful. The rooms were exceptionally clean and comfortable.

The pool and jacuzzi were very relaxing.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
1  Thank ripcurled1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is less than a 10 minute walk to the convention center. The rooms are clean and comfortable with a refrigerator included. The free breakfast is nice with lots of choices and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott S, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you very much William for your comments. I am glad you had a great recent stay with us in Downtown Phoenix. We really do have a great location that is convenient to all downtown attractions and businesses and our staff strives to help provide the best possible guest service. We look forward to your future stay with us the next time your are in Arizona!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The staff was extremely helpful. After going to our room, I received a call from them just to see if everything was okay. I told them a light was out on the bedside, but it was never replaced in the 2 days we stayed. Not sure why. It is a very clean facility, the hot/continental breakfast is decent, and again the staff is very helpful. Did not go into the small pool, but the hot tub was nice. The only things we really did not like were the sheets were very cheap and scratchy, and the pillows were pitiful - like sleeping on pancakes. You could also hear the other doors slamming down the hall. The room has a microwave and fridge, which was very handy. If you are basing camp here to do things downtown, you will find you need a cab quite often, or will need to do a lot of walking. It seems to be off the beaten path. I wouldn't stay here again just because of the sleep quality and because of the price. Total was over $400 for just 2 days. Really not worth that.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Residence Inn by Marriott Phoenix Downtown
Central City
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 174 in Phoenix
1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown

Address: 620 N 6th St, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2149
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#34 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#65 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $120 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is located only four blocks from the US Airways Center, home of the NBA AllStar game and week end.The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix Downtown - Ball Park is a beautiful hotel located in downtown Phoenix. We are within walking distance to Chase Field, home of the AZ Diamondbacks, Arizona Center , Phoenix Convention Center and the US Airways Arena. You will appreciate that the entire hotel is non-smoking.Travelers visiting APS, Dodge Theater, Orpheum Theater, Saint Mary's Basilica, TGEN, Bio Science High School, Phoenix City Hall, Chase Field, Phoenix Suns, AZ Diamondbacks, Phoenix Courthouse and the Federal Building will find the Holiday Inn & Suites the perfect location. We offer newly renovated spacious guest rooms including executive suites featuring a sitting area including fold out couch. All guestrooms include high-speed Internet, 32 inch flat screen TVs, microwave, refrigerator, and cable TV including free HBO. Enjoy our complimentary breakfast buffet that is offered every morning. For your convenience you can print your boarding pass or check email in our free business center. You can work out your frustrations in our workout room or dunk some baskets on our outdoor sports court. Many restaurants are within walking distance.Airport shuttle is not provided.Visit Phoenix and Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Phoenix Downtown - Ball Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix
Phoenix Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing