We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn I-10 West at 51st Ave
Ranked #98 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed June 12, 2007

June 2007 found us staying at this Hampton Inn in Phoenix on Latham. We were attending a conference and read the reviews on-line about this property. It was a perfect location for us.

The property grounds are beautifully maintained. The front desk staff professional and friendly.

The rooms are typical of a Hampton Inn - maybe a wee bit nicer. They were clean, new linens, quiet (even close to the freeway), friendly housekeeping staff too.

The area is not the reason we stayed but the convenience to
I-10. I saw the negative comments about the location but they were not a factor in our decision to chose this location. Also, there are multiple places to dine fairly close and that also was not a problem.

I would recommend this location and stay here again. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn I-10 West at 51st Ave
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 140 reviews

Reviewed May 6, 2007

My husband and I just cspent a great vacation in Sedona Arizona and are headed back to Los Angeles. We wanted to take our time driving back and spend a night in Phoenix with easy access to the I-10. I am thrilled that we decided to stay at the Hampton Inn. I really expected to be disappointed after our stay at a Sedona Resort but this place is lovely. The room with 2 queen beds is very large, the beds are extremely comfortable, the internet access is perfect, the bathroom and room appointments are lovely, and they even offer HBO and pay per view movies. Best of all, it is extremely clean. I'm a fanatic about that and with all the talk about hotels with bedbugs I even check the mattresses. This passed inspection with flying colors. And, oh, the staff is friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank heartfelt57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2006

I have stayed at this Hampton Inn many times. I have never had any problems, each stay has been a pleasurable experience. There are 5 or 6 hotels near this area, this is the beginning of Phoenix as you come in from the west. It is convenient for me as I have business contacts nearby, close and simple.

The facility is modern and clean. This last stay I noticed they had new bedding comforters and pillows, much better than before. Out of all the hotels on the west side near i-10, this one is probably the best. The facility is secure, & the staff is professional. I think they must have upgraded the wifi internet connection also. I have stayed in all parts of this hotel and never had such a strong connection as I did this last stay.

The complimentary hot breakfast is similar to most other Hampton Inns I've stayed at. Eggs, a meat, cereal, breads and fruit.

I agree with others that it's not the best area, but it's not the worst either. There is not much nearby except a 24 IHOP. I have walked there at night, but I am a big male and I dont recommend walking out at night for for everyone.

Over all I like the Hampton Inn I-10 west and recommend it to others staying in that part of town.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank freykr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2006

It's a shame that this Hampton is stuck where it is, sandwiched between the Travelers inn and the Phoenix West Inn, in an area where I do not suggest walking alone at night. Yes it is convenient, right off I-10 at 51st., in an area known as Phoenix West. This several block area is dominated by trucker traffic due to the large facility very near for fueling, etc. 18-wheelers are everywhere; not just for diesel fuel, but there are plenty of warehouses nearby as well. However, the only truck noise I heard was in the morning when the overnight truckers started up in the morning at the Phoenix West Inn.

I don't know how long ago the hotel was remodeled, but it must have been very recent., inside and out. The grounds are well maintained, but step off their property onto Lasham St. and it looks like a junkyard.

Local [walkable] dining is equally dismal, with a few fast food places, and an IHOP. If you want 'real' food, plan on driving a few miles to 75th. Ave. The only full service hotel in the area is the Holiday Inn across I-10. I went there for a few minutes, but it is located in a similar scary area.

The large, spotless room itself was great! When I booked it online I had my choice of an easy chair [see photo] or a sleeper sofa. WiFi was fast and easy to connect. The desk area had plenty of available AC sockets. In fact, there was a socket IN the base of the desk lamp. Nice touch! Embarassing selection of TV channels, as in not many.

The pool area looked inviting, but it was unlit and the water was too warm to be refreshing after a warm day.

Breakfast was a definite highlite, with an excellent fresh selection of everything you would expect from a Hampton lately. It seemed that there was always somebody there checking food supply and refilling if needed. The eating area was large with many tables, and plenty of room.

The hotel seems very security consious. The only way to enter the hotel without a room key is through the lobby. At the other entrances, a room key IS required, and this is 24-hours a day.

If you need a place to stay in this area, the Hampton does the job nicely, IF you have a car. Now that I think about it though, I cant imagine how you would get there anyway, without transportation.

Stay there, but don't venture into the night. What a shame...

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank airlinestuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
San Diego
12
Reviewed April 27, 2006

Watch out for the cancellation policy at this Hampton Inn and the attitude of the management. They have a 24 hour cancellation policy unlike essentially other Hampton Inns which have a 6 pm policy.

Stayed: February 2005
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2005

My husband and I stayed at the Hampton Inn for one night (April 9, 2005). We were upgraded to an executive room without asking. It was a lovely room--immaculate, tastefully decorated, with microwave/mini-refrigerator. The bed was very comfortable, but the pillows were flimsy. The bathroom had lots of counter space. The breakfast buffet included a couple of hot items. (That morning it was "egg patties" and biscuits and gravy.) We have no complaints about the Hampton Inn; we just felt that it was overpriced. We paid $120 for what was supposed to be a standard room. That was by far the highest rate we paid in all of Arizona, from Tucson to Flagstaff.

  • Stayed: April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 4 Joyful Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank piriaviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortInnPhxWest, Front Office Manager at Comfort Inn I-10 West at 51st Ave, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2016
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Comfort Inn West
#125 of 174 in Phoenix
99 reviews
Holiday Inn Phoenix-West
#90 of 174 in Phoenix
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North Mountain
Comfort Suites Phoenix North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn I-10 West at 51st Ave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn I-10 West at 51st Ave

Address: 5152 W Latham St, Phoenix, AZ 85043-1770 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Price Range: $65 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn I-10 West at 51st Ave 2.5*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just off I10, 3 story 122 rooms interior corridor with an outdoor pool, spa, fitness room, meeting room, free WiFi, Free hot continental breakfast. Rooms with new Serta mattresses and bedding along with Satellite TV with premium channels, fridge, microwave, work desk with ergonomic chair, iron and board, and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn I-10 West at 51st Ave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Phoenix West Hotel Phoenix
Hampton Inn Phoenix
Phoenix Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing