We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight for 'Bolder/Fresher tour”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport
Ranked #33 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Only used as a stop over for the OReilley/Miller show. Room was very comfortable and a good value for the room rate. Would recommend for people using Phoenix as a destination point. Didn't need or use the shuttle service so can't speak to that. Ate dinner in the hotel restaurant which was so/so but service was OK.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SEAZRETD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

589 - 595 of 763 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

The rooms are usually nice but the wait for the shuttle is a bear. After an all day flight we waited more than 45 minutes for the shuttle. To their credit they said they had tried to get hold of us (the phone was off) to tell us to grab a taxi and they did give us a free breakfast. However that was not the first time we had a long wait for the shuttle - they share with Holiday Inn Express. We saw several of the same bus from other hotels come more than once while we waited. This time we were put in room 211! Worst room ever as the AC units were outside the room and it was very noisy all night long. The pool and hot tub are filthy and there is no excuse for that. This was our first time to try them. Next time we will try somewhere else near the airport or drive to our usual place in Surprise.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not near the second floor on the pool side or you won't sleep due to the AC un...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EL316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranfor, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Good evening EL316,

Thank you for staying with us and I really appreciate the feedback. I apologize for the van service issues. We usually run two vans in the evening but one came to the end of its life rather suddenly and we were in the process of purchasing a replacement, which always takes a little time. However I was pleased to see that when we realized there was a time problem the front desk staff made a good effort to make it up to you.

I also would like you to know that we are in the process of taking bids for a pool refurbishment and what appears to be a dirty environment is in reality a very worn-looking bottom which has a similar unattractive look. I promise it will look great when finished.

I hope you give us another opportunity to serve your hospitality needs in future as we strive very hard to anticipate and learn from guest problems.

Best regards and safe travels,

Randy Forrest
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in Feb. '13. The location is good for Sky Harbor Airport in Phoenix. They only have king size beds and no rooms with 2 queens. So my two teenage girls had to sleep on a pull out sofa bed that was so lousy! Our king size bed was definately the most uncomfortable mattress we have ever slept on. It felt like a foam pad on a board. The airconditioner when it runs is excessively loud. The toilet when we would flush it would continue to run for 5 minutes. Our room was nice sized and has a small nice kitchen. The room was very clean. And the staff at the front desk very friendly. We did not eat there. I guess they offer a breakfast brunch for $11.00. Our only other complaint was there must have been a young child in the room above us and you could hear them running in their room so easily.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DianeV36461
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranfor, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Hello DianeV36461,

Thank you for staying with us and mentioning our strong points such as nice sized room, small nice kitchen and that the room was very clean and the front desk staff very friendly. I do apologize for the mechanical problems and I thank you for the heads up as we really like to get those types of normal mechanical problems taken care of as quickly as possible so the next guest won't have to experience them.

Again, thank you for staying with us and I hope to see you again in the near future.

Randy Forrest
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by how spacious the room was, including the bathroom. There was a small kitchenette and a "living room" area with a small sofa, chair and coffee table. The property was in good shape. They have a restaurant that seemed to be clean and appealing. I did not eat breakfast, but they had a decent looking assortment of food, along with a made-to-order omelet station. I would definetly stay at this property again when I am in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CoffeeTalk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I recently stayed at the Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport for an overnight layover. The hotel has a free airport shuttle, which is one of the reasons I chose the property. The hotel is located across the street from the University of Phoenix, in a cluster of several other hotels. The lobby and restaurant are small, but adequate. The rooms, however, are amazing. This hotel is not laid out like a typical Hilton Garden Inn. The rooms are large and of local decor. I was given a room with a sofa and chair and a small kitchenette. It was very clean, quiet and comfortable. The American Grill restaurant has a nice abbreviated dinner menu. The food tasted fresh and was very good. There are not too many restaurants within walking distance of the hotel, but there is a Waffle House just steps from the front door. This Hilton Garden Inn was a pleasant surprise, and it is highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stirfry300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Our room was very clean and super large. Small kitchen area, office area, living room and huge king bed. Bathroom also very clean and spacious. Although the room was wonderful if u were expecting to use the outdoor hot tub that was the disappointment. It was quite slimy on the sides and never did warm up. We did tell the front desk but no one came to repair it while we were there. As we had grandchildren with us that was disappointing.
Something u just wouldn't expect in a nicer hotel.
Other than that great place. We had supper in the hotel restaurant and the food and service was very good.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floggymog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranfor, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

Good afternoon Floggymob,

Thank you very much for the very generous comments concerning our hotel. We strive very hard to hear comments such yours: very clean, super large, huge king bed, bathroom very clean and spacious. It makes all the hard work and training worth it.

As for the hot tub, we had a burned out motor that we were not immediately aware of but the good news is that it has been repaired and is fully functional again.

Again, thank you very much and I hope to meet you in person during your next visit.

Randy Forrest
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This is a very pleasant property, in a good location. The add on breakfast option provided a very good breakfast, definitely above the usual free breakfast. Service was friendly and efficient. The hotel has no two queen bed rooms, only king beds, so if traveling with a friend someone is likely to use the pull out sofa. It is reasonably comfortable and is in a separate living room, closed off from the bedroom so that was nice The rooms do have refrigerator and microwave, even a dishwasher (but no dishes). I am guessing that they would be provided if requested. The hot tub was not hot but the staff allowed us to go next door to the adjacent property (same ownership) and it was close and fine. We found it to be a pleasant property and a good value. Close to the airport and good access to freeways.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Norma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#16 of 174 in Phoenix
1,418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Mountain
Holiday Inn Express Phoenix Airport (University Drive)
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport

Address: 3422 E Elwood St, University & I-10, Phoenix, AZ 85040-1626
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > South Mountain
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#18 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $84 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mediterranean ambience, modern in room amenities for the business or leisure traveller; near I-10 & University Drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport Hotel Phoenix
Hilton Phoenix
Phoenix Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing