We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much fun!!!”

Carnival of Illusion
Book In Advance
More Info
$41.59*
and up
Phoenix Carnival of Illusion
Ranked #2 of 26 Concerts & Shows in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Laugh, Have Fun and Celebrate at Arizona's ONLY Intimate Illusion Show. Roland Sarlot and Susan Eyed transport you on a beguiling magical journey around the world in their Vaudeville-Inspired Magical Parlour Show limited to just 100 special guests. Sarlot and Eyed have performed as house magicians at the world's top resorts, for Fortune 100 CEOs, to the 200 Most Powerful Women in America. The "Magic, Mystery and Oooh La La" happens select weekends during high season in four Arizona Locations. Check website for show times and details.
Phoenix
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“So much fun!!!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Everyone in our group got to participate in one way or another and it made for an exciting night! This little piece of Vaudeville will leave you smiling and wondering just how did they do that? I'll be back and bringing friends.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ShawnFinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnival_of_Illusion, Ringmasters at Carnival of Illusion, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
If they are just as fun as you, "ShawnFinn", we just can't wait to meet your friends. The parlor is in for a fabulous crazy time!!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    7
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Awesome Show!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

This was a very fun show! An intimate atmosphere and something great to do when you are looking for a night out!!! I love how they engaged the audience, being part of the show was a magical experience.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnival_of_Illusion, Ringmasters at Carnival of Illusion, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
"Henry T" the show was magical because of YOU! Thanks for the "Awesome" review,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“What a fabulous show!”
Reviewed March 24, 2014

What a fun and entertaining night out... One of the most unique offerings in town. Susan and Roland offer such great customer service and a fabulous experience for all... Must see in Phoenix and Tucson.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dmcguinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnival_of_Illusion, Ringmasters at Carnival of Illusion, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
We are so very proud of our staff who knows how important customer service is and we will pass your kudos on to them. Thank you, "Dmcguinn", for taking the time to write such a nice review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southlake, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Bad show made worse by high price”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This show is bad; astonishingly bad. I read glowing reviews here on TripAdvisor before going and went based on the strength of these reviews. It's hard to credit these reviews now.

I like magic. Carnival of Illusion's magic is bad. The secret of a number of illusions is so obvious that it's painful to sit through the rest of the trick (and I'm not on the hunt to detect the secret). Some of the illusions were so bad that the audience would clap weakly at the end, unsure that magic had been performed. I had to ask my friends a couple of times "what was the magic part?" Four people couldn't figure it out. We should be asking "how did he do that!?" NOT "what did he do?"

Fine, but it's funny, right? No. A funny show would had compensated for the lousy magic, but the jokes were terribly lame. "We have a tradition here" *takes a drink before the next act* "a fine tradition." *repeat throughout the show* Hilarious? No.

The performers were earnest and committed, but a lot of the act they seemed to stall for time--they've got 80 minutes to fill after all. I'm sure the performers don't feel this way, but I would feel uncomfortable for them when their illusions fell flat. Pity is not entertainment.

To add insult to injury, the show is pricey. With fees and taxes this show cost $50/person. I strongly recommend you pass on this one.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank elmobob14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnival_of_Illusion, Owner at Carnival of Illusion, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Dear Sir, As owners/performers of Carnival of Illusion we would like to greatly apologize for your negative experience at our business. The nature of a live show is that every show is slightly different and while there is the rare occasion when an illusion may be performed with a misstep, those issues are rare. While the title of your post suggests this was continuous, we're not clear if your perspective was an issue of taste rather than needless exposés, regardless, you have our fullest commitment to constantly improve our craft, business practices, and guest experience.

Regarding the $50 price, you attended our performance in a beautiful and historic Waldorf-Astoria resort and we prepaid your parking (a $27 value). It's unfortunate that you didn't see any value in your evening with your one star rating. It's a shame you didn't notice the stage decorated with a beautiful Oriental carpet, the chairs covered with flocked damask fabric and flowers for the front row, our backdrop created with vintage theater curtains, velvet swags with heavy fringe and old-world luggage, an atmosphere with LED stage lights complimenting the 28 music cues, the multiple costume changes, the hand printed gold-inked tickets with stock so thick they can't go through modern printers, the completely custom-designed free eight page souvenir program, and the performance of one of the greatest illusions just inches away from the front row. (We know of no performer in the history of magic who has ever done this so close to a live audience.) We're also sorry you didn't see the many guests after the show from the same evening taking photos as well as requesting posters and other memorabilia to be signed. It's unfortunate you couldn't grant us some credit and respect for building a business based in the performing arts, with an intimate audience, and for trying something completely different.

Our team has worked very, very hard for many years to create a show that most people not only enjoy but return again and again bringing family and friends. We wish you would have spoken with our Parlour Attendants about your perspective during intermission as they would have returned your hard earned money. Again, our entire business goal is that every guest has a wonderful evening. We're very sorry that is not what you experienced.

Most sincerely,
Roland Sarlot and Susan Eyed
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A MUST SEE ! Several of their illusions simply blew our minds!”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This was a night to remember for every audience member. We've seen hundreds of shows, including some of the large Vegas acts and this was, by far, our favorite magic show experience. They really give you an up-close and personal look at the illusions which is rare. I would highly recommend Carnival of Illusion for a special date-night, a top-notch corporate event or to thrill and amaze your friends and family. The Biltmore venue is classy and also gives you the opportunity to get a drink or dinner as part of the night. Perfect night!

My husband and I saw Carnival of Illusion on our anniversary and were delighted by the charm, wit and humor this amazing duo wove into their memorizing performance. Almost every audience member had an opportunity to participate in the show in one way or another, which made it a very special experience.

Not only did we end up with a huge playing card that had simply "materialized" during a trick to take home as a souvenir but Roland Sarlot and Susan Eyed were kind enough to take time after the show with us and many other folks to take pictures, sign the card, let us check-out some cool props and celebrate an exceptional night.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnival_of_Illusion, Ringmasters at Carnival of Illusion, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
"Margaret F" we loved having you and your husband at the show. Thanks for sharing YOUR magic!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carnival of Illusion also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Carnival of Illusion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing