We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fascinating and non-touristy!”

Tovrea Castle at Carraro Heights
Ranked #87 of 230 things to do in Phoenix
Attraction details
White Bear Lake, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fascinating and non-touristy!”
Reviewed March 28, 2014

The tour and story behind Tovrea Castle are well worth the stop. Be warned, though; Tours are full at least 6 months in advance so sign up early.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank friendlyzombies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    8
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enchanting Story & Fun Tour”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Many times while driving by on the freeway I saw this "interesting building on a hill" and always wondered what it was. Locals called it the Wedding Cake. It opened to the public in 2012 and we had to see it right away. It's a not to be missed piece of Phoenix history. A love story, a business endeavor, and a local family. It's well done.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank GoodyearAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Couldn't take the tour, but the scenery was nice”
Reviewed April 3, 2013

We tried to take the tour while we were in Phoenix, but they were booked up from the end of March until the middle of June. We stopped by to just look from the outside and had a great conversation with one of the volunteers who runs the tours. Since it is all run by volunteers, the number of tours are limited. This is something I would like to go back and see when I can take the tour.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix , Az
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A pleasant tour”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife had been wanting to see Tovrea for years. The small group informal tour was a nice way to see it . We thoughorly enjoyed the tour. Best done during the cool months so make sure you book far in advance.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank tachedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix , Az
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Finally open for tours”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My wife has been wanting to see Tovrea for years. You need to book in advance due to the limited number of people toured per day. We really enjoyed the informal style small group tour.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank tachedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tovrea Castle at Carraro Heights also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Tovrea Castle at Carraro Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing