We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Another awesome stay at the Westin” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Westin Phoenix Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Westin Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #6 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Fe, N.M.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Another awesome stay at the Westin”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

This is my second stay at the Westin Phoenix Downtown and my second review. In between stays at the Westin I have stayed at the Kimpton Palomar, which is about five blocks south of the Westin. I am a huge Kimpton fan, but I think the Westin compares very favorably to the Kimpton Palomar in a head-to-head competition. What I really love about this Westin are the huge rooms, the huge bathroom with a rain shower, the floor to ceiling windows, and the great views. The Hotel only occupies the 11th to 18th floors of the building, so all of the rooms appear to have good views. The restaurant is not as lively as the Palomar’s Blue Hound, and the menu is less interesting than the Blue Hound. However, the food was good and the service was excellent. Overall, the service at the Westin was excellent.

The Wi-Fi costs 10.00 or 15.00 depending on the speed, whereas its free at Kimpton if you sign up for In-Touch. The surrouding neighborhood is great for tourism, and I think kids would love to stay in this part of Phoenix. Within easy walking distance of the Westin are the Phoenix Children’s Museum (looks awesome), the Arizona Science Center; and Chase Field. The train to the plane stops right across from the hotel’s entrance. I was in a rental, and the drive from the airport rental center to the Hotel took no more than ten minutes.

The hotel’s gym is great, and boasts fine views. There are four ellipitical machines, three bikes, four treadmills, a good rack of free weights and two benches. There are four separate Lifestyle weight machines. Usual assortment of yoga mats, exercise balls, and pilates balls. The gym facility is quite big.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidBradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, General Manager at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Thank you for your positive feed back we look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    156
    34
    13
    13
See reviews for
102
161
39
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
122 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Stayed for one night, having arrived from the UK, before heading to Sedona. Great central location. Staff, especially at reception was outstanding, less so in the bar. Rooms are very spacious and modern. Breakfast in the restaurant was very good. Can highly recommend to stay there.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank STEPDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, General Manager at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
So glad we could make your stay in AZ a great one. Hope you enjoyed Sedona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel was average in total. The rooms were clean and on site service was fine but nothing special by any stretch. The lobby store was only open by request?? The bar is tiny and not welcoming and honestly there is nothing to do in the area what so ever. Also, they gave us late checkout on Sunday which was very nice or so we thought. The staff knocked on our door every 45min to see if we left yet, perplexing. In general is ok but nothing great.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JIm V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, General Manager at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and I am sorry we did not exceeded your expectations. It is our goal to go above and beyond all gust expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly at the hotel if you wish to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was an awesome hotel. I would say the best i have ever stayed in (I have stayed in a couple of 5 star hotels but this is at a different class) Everything was sleek, modern and looked 2020. The front desk people were helpful and polite and even helped me find free parking around the block. I stayed in this hotel for a good deal and would definitely go back to it when i visit Phoenix.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Azy_Ahmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, Manager at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments we love it when we exceed our guest expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Business travel normally means all sorts of excuses to skip my workout and eat outside my normal diet. Between the beautiful rooftop pool, spotless entertaining gym and extensive healthy food choices in the restaurant and from room service; it was an easy pleasure to keep myself feeling my best on my visit to the Westin Downtown Phoenix. Every staff member I encountered was friendly and accommodating. The property was conveniently located for both catching the train to outlying meetings and walking to all points downtown. The room itself was well appointed, spacious, and difficult to leave at the end of my trip. Can't wait to find another reason to head to Phoenix!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tayloredfit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, General Manager at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you so much for all your amazing feedback. We love it when we exceed your guest’s expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Even though Phoenix isn't full of things to do (we were visiting for 2 nights for a concert) The Westin is a must stay if you're ever in the area.
Very helpful and friendly staff (Special mention to Andrea who was amazing!!!)
Rooms were massive and super clean.
Currently staying at The Westin Time Square.....Clearly Phoenix's older, uglier, ruder cousin....

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dale Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

This is a long overdue review of the Westin Phoenix downtown. I am east coast based and recently worked for a client in the downtown Phoenix area. My responsibility to the client and the work had me in Phoenix for about ten months in total. On average, I spent 2.5 weeks per month on site. The back and forth travel was grueling at times but the Westin was always the bright spot. First, I can't say enough about the associates. Everyone from Don at the bar to everyone at the front desk went above and beyond. Yes I came to know almost everyone there, but they also came to know me (and my colleague). I was always greeted cheerfully and genuinely. The restaurant was excellent, the bar was comfortable and like other reviews here, the rooms were immaculate. Spacious, clean and floor to ceiling windows for nice views. As a Starwood member, I occasionally scored the larger rooms and suites and they were even more spectacular.

I highly recommend this property. It is convenient to the light rail (directly across the street). Without a car, I was able to travel all over including ASU and the Mill Road area. I even managed to use light rail from the Westin to get to Tempe Marketplace (I did have to walk a bit after the rail stop but it was so worth it).

Within walking distance are plenty of excellent restaurants and bars. Check out Hanny's and ask to see the downstairs attraction. Also, the pretzels and beer at the Arrogant Butcher are a must.

I will definitely return to this property whether or not for business. Of all the major brands in the area, the Westin is a sure win.

Room Tip: All views are nice but I enjoyed facing the Hyatt and watching the air traffic come into Sky Harbor...
See more room tips
Green Features: They offer a green choice upon check-in. I like the idea but since I was working a lot, I liked having the room attended to. They also offer a voucher if you opt in for their green choice. I forget the value, but it is a nice incentive.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Todd I, General Manager at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for the wonderful review and I am so happy that the associates made you feel at home. As someone who grew up in N.J. I understand how difficult that trip can be when you have to do it often. Thank you for choosing the Westin and your loyalty.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#28 of 173 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,603 reviews
Deer Valley
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix North - Happy Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Phoenix Downtown

Property: Westin Phoenix Downtown
Address: 333 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#1 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Phoenix Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown hotel is conveniently located near Phoenix's Convention Center. Onsite, we offer comfortable hotel rooms and large event space perfect for weddings, conferences, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Westin Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing