We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Westin Phoenix Downtown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westin Phoenix Downtown
Ranked #6 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay at the Westin Phoenix Downtown”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at this property for 1 night, drove in for the Cardinals football game on Monday night. The resort was very clean with great overall ambiance. I enjoyed a great dinner at Province, Kyle was our waiter. We had the scallop ceviche, flatbread, and the skirt steak. Kyle was fantastic, service wise and recommending the food options.

Of course as a Westin, the heavenly bed was awesome along with some great views of downtown. Check in was a breeze and at check out we stored our bags at the Front Desk. The valet team even loaded our bags into our car while we were away at our conference. The room itself was super clean and it felt like a brand new room.

I would highly recommend this property for leisure or business due its convenient location and great service. Go check it out yourself.

Room Tip: pay for the upgrade to a corner suite, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sportsguy038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    170
    36
    13
    13
See reviews for
111
174
40
346
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a modern, clean hotel with friendly staff. They were kind enough to call our cell when our room was ready, and they were always welcoming. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The service at Province (lobby restaurant) was lacking, and there was absolutely no service at the pool. I waited and waited looking at the menu, but never a soul came by. There is no spa or concierge. Overall, I would stay there again, but for much less than we paid. Our room was very expensive to stay in a very uninteresting downtown Phoenix. For the amount we paid, I'd expect to be at a resort on Camelback mountain.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JanOct0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at the Westin Phoenix Downtown last weekend, and we honestly can't wait to return. Almost everything about the hotel was perfect. Valet and check in were seamless and easy. When we got to the room the hotel placed itself in my list of favorites. Not only was the room enormous, it was impeccably clean; my husband commented that the linens were so white that the sun's reflection was blinding. On the desk was a handwritten note addressed to our family with a selection of complimentary snacks, sweets, and bottled water. Guest services also offers many amenities, including a bed rail. We called down to have one installed for our toddler, and someone came up promptly to fulfill the request. We ate at the hotel resteraunt for two breakfast meals and a late dinner. The menu is limited, but everything we had was delicious. When we had dinner, the server, Kyle, brought over a small amuse bouche before we ordered, compliments of the chef. We let him know we just wanted something light, as we had a heavy lunch, and he made a couple of suggestions from the room service menu that weren't on the resteraunt menu. Also, when he brought our food, he came to the table with a flatbread pizza, that he said was also light and a great compliment to what we ordered. It was amazing and so thoughtful (and not on the check). The sangria is delicious as well. The hostess, Amber, was also very sweet. She was dancing with our little one and telling us about the area. I did explore the hotel a bit, and though we didnt use the pool, gym and business center, they seemed like they'd serve their purpose during a getaway or business stay. Our weekend at the Westin was such a great experience. The only issue we had was annoying, but didn't ruin the stay. We were out of the room from about 7:30am until almost 4pm, and the room had not been made up while we were gone. We called down and just said we'd take the SPG points since they give you the green option to opt out. We requested turn-down service when we went out in the evenings, and the beds were made and towels replaced then, which was fine. We will need to be in Phoenix twice a year now and plan to make the Westin our home base there. I'm not sure if our experience is typical there, but it certainly was exceptional. Fantastic service and an especially clean hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LVLisaAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Westin Phoenix is a unique modern hotel with typical Westin ammenities. Front desk staff were excellent and knew the area well. Valet staff were very professional and efficient. King room on the top floor was very large with a great view.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LTK123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I travel for my job so I am in hotels almost every week. I am loyal to Starwood but I would think twice about staying at this hotel again.

While the rooms were lovely and spacious, for some reason they have it set so you can NOT turn off the air in the room. Cold or hot you can choose but the air will remain on. If you are sitting at the desk trying to get work done, the air blows right on you, so much so that the curtains move in the wind. When I called down stairs, they said that there was no way to turn it off from the room and that they would send someone up from engineering. He came right away but couldn't turn it off with out unhooking some wiring up inside the closet. Then, if I wanted it back on, he would have to come back and reverse the process. Instead, I had him rearrange the vents which helped a little, but not a lot.

Second, the shower heads are on a moveable track but there is no way to adjust the water to face down, so it comes straight at you.

Third, hotel states that you can have up to three devices on your Internet for your room. I had to log in for two devices and, would you know it, I was charged twice daily for my Internet. The hotel didn't even ask me if I wanted to review my bill when I went to check out. Only when I asked to see my bill did I find the extra charges. Charges were removed.

Lastly, leaving the hotel was not a good experience. I went out to the valet to catch a cab. The valet on duty said that they had cars that could take me. I specifically asked if they were the same prices as a cab and he said yes. When I got to the airport the driver tried to charge me $10.00 more than what a cab would cost. After 5 minutes of arguing I paid him more than I should have and got out of the car.

Needless to say, when I come back to Phoenix, I think I will be staying at the Sheraton instead. Stayed there last time and it was much better than the Westin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2travelis2live_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdellergo, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
2travelis2live_12,

Thank you for taking the time to post this detailed feedback from your stay with us. I am very sorry to hear that you had a few issues in your guestroom; I can only hope that you afforded us the opportunity to make things right for you. We are always happy to respond to any guest request to ensure their stay is comfortable.

We love guest feedback because it helps us to be better! We appreciate very much both your business and your feedback, and we genuinely thank you for both.

Respectfully,

Brian Dell'Ergo
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Since the arrival, and even after the check out (requiring spetial service as I forgot some stuff at the room), all the personnel at the front desk, restaurant, room service, etc. is providing nice and personal attention on any single detail.
Congratulations

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manuel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdellergo, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Manuel C,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience. We are delighted to hear that your stay, from beginning to end, exceeded your expectations. Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Westin Phoenix Downtown when your travels bring you back to Phoenix.

Be Well,

BRIAN R. DELL'ERGO
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

As a Starwood Platinum I have stayed at many Westins. This hotel raises the bar for the others! Job well done! Service, rooms, location and experience here is what Westin intended.....take the time to stay. Check out the local establishments and relax on the patio outside.....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gguy2334
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bdellergo, Director of Operations at Westin Phoenix Downtown, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Gguy2334,

We love hearing from our valued Starwood Preferred Guest Platinum members - thank you so much for your loyalty to Starwood, as well as your comments regarding your recent stay. We know you have a choice of brands when you travel, and your business means a lot to us. Thank you!

Respectfully,

BRIAN R. DELL'ERGO
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Phoenix
Sheraton Grand Phoenix
#19 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
FOUND:RE Phoenix
FOUND:RE Phoenix
#3 of 174 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westin Phoenix Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westin Phoenix Downtown

Property: Westin Phoenix Downtown
Address: 333 N Central Ave, Phoenix, AZ 85004-2121
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Luxury Hotel in Phoenix
#3 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#5 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Westin Phoenix Downtown 4*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This downtown hotel is conveniently located near Phoenix's Convention Center. Onsite, we offer comfortable hotel rooms and large event space perfect for weddings, conferences, and meetings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Westin Phoenix Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westin Phoenix Downtown Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing