We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable evening and something you should try once.”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beckett's Table

Beckett's Table
Reserve with OpenTable
Beckett's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 3,061 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $35
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 36th street & Indian School
Description: Chef Justin Beckett brings together what matters to him most: family, friends and honest, incredible food. With considerable help from his partners and longtime friends Scott and Katie Stephens and his wife Michelle, Beckett has created an irresistible hangout for his discerning Arcadia/Biltmore neighbors, people who expect comfort and sophistication in equal measure and get it here. The same grounded approach is evident on the menu, which emphasizes seasonal American cooking in dishes such as pork osso buck confit, creamy grits and spicy andouille sausage with mustard jus, short ribs with mashed potatoes and grilled cheese. Factor in the inviting bar, roomy patio and community table, and it gets even easier to follow the Beckett's Table mandate: Come Together.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Enjoyable evening and something you should try once.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

Beckett’s table was good and maybe I would put better than good but not excellent. The dishes are creative and have a local feel. I did leave hungry after having an appetizer the roasted red pepper soup and entrée the short ribs. Both dishes were above average but did not WOW me. Service was excellent and the restaurant, itself has a cool vibe and very clean. Nose level was medium.

The one disappointment was that for a advertised local place, with a large local wine list, has only two local wine by the glass. I am a wine connoisseur and wanted to try few local wines, but couldn’t because they were mostly by the bottle and ridicules prices for what they were. My recommendation would be to offer more local wines by the glass and other regions by the bottle, so the general public would be willing to experiment with a glass at 12 dollar instead of a bottle for 60-80 dollars.

Otherwise Beckett’s table was an enjoyable evening and something you should try once.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RAS831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    99
    36
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I found Beckett's Table on the Devour Phoenix AND Wine Spectator web sites when searching for a casual place for an anniversary night out. We arrived at the restaurant a few minutes early and found our table ready, with the flowers I had ordered waiting for us. Food was tasty, if a bit uneven (I had some cold veggies on my plate), with the Tuna Tartare appetizer and Pecan and Fig Pie for dessert the stars of the meal. I was surprised that a Wine Spectator award winner had marginally helpful staff to select wines, though the selection was good and we enjoyed both the glass of Prosecco and bottle of White Burgundy that we enjoyed with dinner. Overall, the experience was very good, if not perfect, and we'll visit again when we're near.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayAAllenAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
91 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Very Nice Casual Dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

Visited with 2 other couples on a Sat night. Restaurant was very busy and a bit noisy, but okay for a casual dining experience. We had a reservation and were seated promptly. Our server was cordial and attentive during our meal.

Since this was our first visit, the majority of the table ordered the house specialty... short ribs. The short ribs were excellent, however they were served with mashed potatoes and a veg medely which were meager and a bit dissapointing. An oso bucco entry and a cheese burger was also ordered at our table, and was equally enjoyed.

The deserts ordred at the table was the coconut cake, pecan fig pie, and choco bacon smores. All were good but not spectacular.

All in all a nice experience, but since we traveled 45 minutes to get to Becket's probably won't be in a hurry to go back.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PHX53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
444 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable price.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Our friends invited us out on a Saturday Night and did not think to get reservations. The maître d' explained which tables were open, but must be vacated in 80 to 90 minutes for those that made reservations. We chose the long open table next to the bar, which is for open seating. Our friends chose the Wood Fired Brussels Sprouts appetizer that was visually pleasing, interesting taste and a different texture that challenged the taste buds. The Signature Fork Tender Short Ribs came on a bed of mashed potatoes and sautéed vegetables. The portions and presentation are clearly meant for refined eaters and not those accustom to a steak house rack of ribs. The boneless ribs were truly fork tender and only proper manners required the use of a knife. The red wine reduction was properly heated and not over cooked. We could not pass on the Toasted Coconut Cake that was expertly presented on a small wood cutting board. The cake is on one side, a scoop of Brown Butter Ice Cream on the other side separated by a wavy river of white and milk chocolate sauce; to beautiful to worry about the calories.
The staff was courteous even under the stress of an order being knocked out of a server’s hand. Even though we were on a long communal table the staff made us feel as if we were at a table for four. The ambiance was excellent with the lighting being not too dark or too light, and the climate could not have been better. We were able to easily communicate despite the restaurant being packed. It was a good time with great food at a reasonable price. Next time I will make the reservation.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Where's the Chef?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

Nice open dining area, cool, clean bathrooms, pleasant enough greeting by host and were seated fairly quickly without a reservation. the beet salad was lovely, small, pretty to look at and tasted nice. the short ribs and risotto had zero flavor. Water was carelessly spilled, and not cleaned up afterwards, that seemed a little odd, it was an obvious spill. beverage service took too long and servers are not polished. It's the little things and the details that one would expect that are lacking here. Additionally, keep your host to at least say, thanks, bye, etc...instead of having guests leave with no proper farewell. Just my 2 cents.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eileen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beckett's Table also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Beckett's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing