We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Some of the better Sushi in Phoenix” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stingray Sushi

Stingray Sushi
Reserve with OpenTable
Stingray Sushi is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #693 of 3,036 Restaurants in Phoenix
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 24th St. and Camelback
Description: Stingray Sushi Biltmore is Phoenix's best and fresh sushi!! Located in the Biltmore and Arcadia Neighborhood, Stingray Sushi is famous for its busy 1/2 Price Happy Hour, 1/2 Price Industry Sundays and its newly launched Japanese Dinner Menu and Daily Lunch Specials w/ Bento Boxes.
Arizona
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Some of the better Sushi in Phoenix”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

This was our first visit to Stingray at the Biltmore. The atmosphere is a bit like a club, with techo-music prominently in the back ground. We sat in a booth in the bar area. There are some tables in another wing of the place. Same music everywhere though. The service was very good. The server was knowledgeable about each sushi roll, which is helpful the first time out. They first provide chop-sticks, then chop-stick cheaters, and then a fork for us infidels. I'm more einterested in enjoying my Sushi than in battling chop-sticks. Everything we had was very good. I wouldn't call this a sushi purist's cathedral, but we had 4 very good rolls, and their signature green tea for around $70.

They had a huge open window from the bar area out to the parking lot. It let in some air....and some flies which were a bit of a nuisance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank dangerdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    52
    23
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
253 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Go for Happy Hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

Saki for $1 and wine $3 pper glass and the Sushi is not half bad --great value and fantastic service.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank hflatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good quality, very good atmosphere, very good prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

Stingray Sushi was an enjoyable site for a dinner, as the quality of the sushi was quite good (especially in the Arizona heat) and the staff was quite friendly. While the service was a bit slow at times, it didn't detract too much from the overall dining experience. For those who are sushi fans, keep this place in mind.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AncientMariner924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Loud but Tasty”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We have eaten here twice. We went back a second time because of one dish. It's a lobster tail stuffed with oysters, onions... and a bunch of really good stuff.

Unfortunatley the second time we were seated behind a very loud table. We couldn't even hear our own conversation. We asked to be moved the staff was polite and accomodating. Shortly thereafter the "loud" table got moved too, so perhaps the staff caught on.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RidingAlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Mediocre Sushi”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

We wanted to try a new sushi place as we always go to the same place, and were disappointed. The food was just okay and same with the service. Our drinks were much better than the sushi so I would recommend coming her for a drink before dinner rather than eating here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Krissy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stingray Sushi also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Stingray Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing