We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We went back!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallo Blanco Cafe - CLOSED

Gallo Blanco Cafe
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, American, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are no longer at The Clarendon Hotel & actively looking for a new home.
Tucson AZ
Level Contributor
187 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“We went back!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

We had lunch here one day, on the patio, and really enjoyed the menu, food and service. We went back for Happy Hour the next day. This restaurant has the quirky, not quite finished retro feel to it, staffed by young edgy people, and the place was packed both times. I had the carne asada and fish tacos for lunch (you buy each taco separately- I liked that!), my husband had a burger and we both liked the food. For happy hour we had the roasted corn and a quesadilla, and the house margaritas. All very good!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbird80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    64
    24
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Worth finding this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

A hidden gem in the mid town Phoenix!! Really enjoyed the very tasty and very fresh approach to each item that we had at Gallo Blanco. Service was attentive without overdoing it. Went to Happy Hour (3-6p daily) and that made the Margaritas, Shrimp and Beef Tacos even more tasty! Try the Key Lime tart for dessert, too, Great combo of flavors without too much sweetness. Restaurant is part of Hotel Clarendon, looks like a trendy place with cool pool setting! Check in out!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank mcs49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Globe
Level Contributor
81 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

Sometimes hotel restaurants are not that great...Here is an exception! Had two meals here with friends. Food and service were great both times. Had a small bowl of posole-excellent, lots of pork and very flavorful. The large bowl is LARGE! Loved the flan and Mexican hot chocolate. The next morning had some very flavorful chorizo and eggs. Their teapots are great.My friends all enjoyed their meals as well. The use fresh ingredients from local vendors.

It is quite noisy when they are busy, so hard to hear if you are trying to converse-so our evening meal we had on their very comfortable patio-no traffic noise. Would have been nice if they had heaters on the patio though.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colonia del Sacramento, Uruguay
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tastiest Mexican Food EVER!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant is well worth visiting. We avoid the noise level by going at "off hours" or by eating in their outdoors area. During weekends, reservations would be a good idea, because this is a very popular place!
We eat there every time we are in Phoenix. Tasty food, at a reasonable price. Extremely pleasant staff.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank SAKiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulltime RVers
Level Contributor
82 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast Burrito”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014 via mobile

Our first time at Gallo Blanco Cafe was while waiting for our flight in Phoenix. We had the Breakfast Burrito and it was great. Just enough spicyness to make it interesting.

Helpful?
1 Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Blanco Cafe also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing