We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SOOOO GOOD!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Gallo Blanco Cafe - CLOSED

Gallo Blanco Cafe
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, American, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are no longer at The Clarendon Hotel & actively looking for a new home.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
90 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“SOOOO GOOD!”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Went there a few weeks ago and had an amazing meal. Their margaritas are the bomb and they have fresh guacamole which is always a plus. The atmosphere is different but in a good way, you will see what I mean when you go there. Definitely going to go back there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeff K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    64
    24
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty good food!”
Reviewed September 28, 2013

I love the hotel rooftop and have attended several get togethers up there but Gallo downstairs was pretty average as far as service goes. I had a variety of tacos which were pretty amazing and I would go back for those. The drinks were awesome as well! Service was just slow which is why I would say it was only an average experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Must have been an off night!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I have eaten here several times before (and haven't given a rating I apologize) but this night was definitely not a memorable night! The hostess was not friendly at all and we had to make our way through the bar just to get a table that was next to all the kitchen traffic; then the server who was supposed to take care of us could not get to us but no other server seemed even remotely interested in taking the initiative to help out! We were thirsty enough to wait for drinks but when the appetizer took half an hour, we opted to just go somewhere else. The appetizer and drinks were good but the overall experience was not what it should have or could have been!!! Maybe we will go back if it is not so crazy!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Trendy & Yummy”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This restaurant is on the first floor of a hotel near downtown. It feels clean and hip. They have a happy hour every day of the week and the guys bathroom is decorated pretty funny. It's intimate but loud at the same time. You could get brunch with friends, a coffee alone on your computer, or drinks with a date.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank coco_bubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morenci
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The atmosphere is super cool and you'll want to just hang out there after your meal is over. The waitstaff is super nice and goes out of their way to make your meal enjoyable. The food itself is delicious. I wanted to try everything on the menu.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maggie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Blanco Cafe also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing