We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Really good Mexican food with a twist!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gallo Blanco Cafe - CLOSED

Gallo Blanco Cafe
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are no longer at The Clarendon Hotel & actively looking for a new home.
Goodyear, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good Mexican food with a twist!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

Tucked away in a retro hotel downtown is a small restaurant & bar serving some of the best home style Mexican food even folks who dislike beans and guacamole will enjoy. The prok quesadillas are great. The freshly made guacamole with big chunks of avocado and the roasted corn are not to be missed. Top that off with the best sangria in town! They also serve delicious breakfast ALL day.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hirneisen-Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    64
    24
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic fresh breakfast and lovely cocktails”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed a great breakfast at Gallo Blanco after arriving in PHX at an odd hour of the morning. Huevos rancheros (very good), omelet (fabulous) and breakfast burrito (also fabulous). Ordered a Bloody Mary (nothing special), prickly pear margarita (very nice) and a picoso (very good). Had our two kids with us and their meal was free and just a buck for a big glass of fresh squeezed oj. Definitely a steal! A part of a hotel that appears to be undergoing a face lift so the atmosphere is a bit odd right now. Nonetheless, great food and drinks. We would love to go again before we have to head back home so we can try the lunch menu.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WrldtrvlrThree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“OMG!!! THE BEST FOOD EVER!!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

This is HANDS DOWN the BEST Mexican food I've EVER had!! and I've been to Mexico four times!!!!!

We had:
the street corn - OMG!! a MUST try
ALL of their single served taco's - OMG!
the guacamole - I miss it already!! - Can you send me some??? :)
The classic margarita's - OMG!
The burrito - OMG!
the lime tart - OMG!
the orange cake - OMG!
Their fire roasted Salsa - OMG!
Their fresh salsa - boy was it fresh!!

I'm salavating just writing this review!!

One thing: It's located inside the Clarendon Hotel which yes, looks a bit sketchy from the outside however please don't let that deter you. Its an eclectic mix of people but that is what made this restaurant have such an amazing atmosphere!!! SUCH an amazing meal, I can't wait to go back!

Bravo!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank zorka3500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“WOW! so good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Amazing drinks, icy cold beer always, among my fav appetizer is the "elote" or corn, chicharron de queso, tacos (that is dinner) if you do breakfast OMG chille aquiles is the way to go.
Yes sometimes service is slow even when is not full the restaurant, there is certainly room for improvement there but food quality makes you easily forget about a little more than usual wait but not unbearable. A must do when in Phoenix, prices are just right!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Clara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic fish tacos while they last!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

I have dined here at least 7 times in last 2 years on business. While location is at a unique boutique hotel that alone creates wonderful atmosphere, the local seasonal vegetables, and locally sources meats are a big attraction for me. And the freaking tapa-sized hand made soft tacos...are jam packed full of flavor. Rock fish, sea bass, wild gulf shrimp, carne asada ribeye, cochonitas, and more. Yummy in my tummy. I'm having a business dinner hear tomorrow night after another 4 tacos tonight...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Luma-boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Blanco Cafe also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing