We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than anything in Scottsdale”
Review of Gallo Blanco Cafe - CLOSED

Gallo Blanco Cafe
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, American, Southwestern, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We are no longer at The Clarendon Hotel & actively looking for a new home.
Anchorage
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Better than anything in Scottsdale”
Reviewed January 7, 2012

Living in the SW during the winters has more benefits than just good weather. One is Gallo Blanco. I have been here many times, think I did a review before, maybe on yelp, but, I've got to say, this place keeps me coming back. I really like the vibe and mixed demographics. Service is wonderful, very accommodating, patient and just the right balance between aloof and friendly. The Margaritas are great, refreshing with a pleasant buzz that doesn't hit too quickly. This is about the 4th time, I've had the Pico burger and I really can't say anything but WOW! Love the roasted green chile, avocado and caramelized onion. The bun might be a little too much, but I leave half of it off and it works. My suggestion is to substitute the fries for the flavorful house salad. Tacos can be a bit of a hit or miss. The Asado salad is another favorite with all its herby wonderfulness. Definitely go for the $5 real juice Margaritas everyday happy hour 3-6 PM and try the beautiful Bloody Mary on the weekends, 10AM+. Great remodeled mid-century hotel with urban appeal. Worth the drive from the E side.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 4squaretires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    64
    24
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yuma
Level Contributor
75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great house red wine, delicious tacos, nice atmosphere, reasonably priced”
Reviewed December 27, 2011

My son, husband and I dined at Gallo Blanco for dinner when we stayed at the Clarendon. Their house red wine was very tasty. The tacos were delicious! They're fairly small, but the flavor is awesome. The guacmole appetizer was amazing - some of the best guacamole I've eaten! (And I'm a Mexican food junkie!) My son got a kid's burger, which was a burger cut in half, but it was plenty of food for him with a nice thick burger. And delicious fries! The atmosphere is very nice. There's outdoor seating available if the weather is nice. (It was too cool the night we were there.) They said it would be a 15 minute wait for our table and only took about 5 minutes. There's a nice lounge area next to the bar to wait in. Service was good.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingIsFun01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Flamenco dancing on Wed nites!”
Reviewed December 15, 2011

Awsome dancers put on a great show on wed nites. Carne asada tacos are great, priced about $3.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank jack t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great food value”
Reviewed December 12, 2011

A cute restaraunt. Unbelievably inexpensive (impossible to spend more than $15 on food), with superb breakfast entree's of flapjacks, granola/yogurt and breakfaxt burrito. Nice decor.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank TomRinA2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Yummy Food & Best Sangria”
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Tucked away in a retro hotel downtown is a small restaurant & bar serving some of the best home style Mexican food even folks who dislike beans and guacamole will enjoy. The prok quesadillas are great. The freshly made guacamole with big chunks of avocado and the roasted corn are not to be missed. Top that off with the best sangria in town! They also serve delicious breakfast ALL day.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marcopolo7920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gallo Blanco Cafe also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing