We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Musical Instrument Museum is incredible”

Musical Instrument Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Musical Instrument Museum Self-Guided Tour
Ranked #1 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The World's Only Global Musical Instrument Museum. Home of the MIM Music Theater--a 300-seat acoustically superb performance space--as well as the award-winning Café Allegro (open 11 am - 2 pm daily) and the MIM Museum Store. The average guest spends nearly four hours at MIM. Please allow plenty of time to fully enjoy MIM's galleries and exhibits. Open daily, 9 am - 5 pm; Closed Thanksgiving; Open Christmas, 11 am - 5 pm. General Admission: $20; Teens (ages 13-19): $15; Children (ages 4-12): $10; Children 3 and under: Free. Hours and prices are subject to change.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Phoenix
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Musical Instrument Museum is incredible”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I visited this museum late one Sunday and I wish I had more time to wander through all of the amazing exhibits. If you have ever wondered about the development of music and the instruments that make all of the sounds, this is the place to go. The museum is an architectural gem and the exhibits are beyond first rate.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank architecttravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,934
    402
    48
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A relaxing and intriguing day of entertainment”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This was an experience which kept me and my husband fascinated for almost 6 hours of steady viewing and listening. We were so impressed with the beauty and comfort of this museum and the close, intimate displays of instruments. Instruments are behind barriers but not behind glass and are close enough to touch although touching is not allowed. There is a large room full of hands on things to try which is fun as well. The sound system through personal earphones worked flawlessly. The Docent led tour of approximately one hour introduced us by that overview which we found helpful in touring on our own afterwards. This is one of the best museum experiences of our lives and we have traveled extensively.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank llamalovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to see and experience a huge variety of musical intruments”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

A museum like no other. You can actually see and hear hundreds of instruments from all over the world, presented in their cultural context. Don't miss it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank BFCJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Be prepared to be WOWed!”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I visited the MIM (what the locals call it!), with friends from Chicago and I was happy to have something in-line with the wonderful museums there. I was impressed with the audio walking tour and the videos that showed the instruments being played form different countries.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Doreen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

The permanent exhibits are very well done and the restaurant has serves great and healthy food even for vegans.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Maralan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musical Instrument Museum also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Musical Instrument Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing