We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the Best Museums I've Visited”

Musical Instrument Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$20.00*
and up
Musical Instrument Museum Self-Guided Tour
Ranked #1 of 230 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: The World's Only Global Musical Instrument Museum. Home of the MIM Music Theater--a 300-seat acoustically superb performance space--as well as the award-winning Café Allegro (open 11 am - 2 pm daily) and the MIM Museum Store. The average guest spends nearly four hours at MIM. Please allow plenty of time to fully enjoy MIM's galleries and exhibits. Open daily, 9 am - 5 pm; Closed Thanksgiving; Open Christmas, 11 am - 5 pm. General Admission: $20; Teens (ages 13-19): $15; Children (ages 4-12): $10; Children 3 and under: Free. Hours and prices are subject to change.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“One of the Best Museums I've Visited”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

When I researched "things to do in Scottsdale," the Musical Instrument Museum (MIM) and Taliesin West kept coming out on the top of the list. And, I can see why. MIM was one of the best museums I have ever visited. The concept is terrific -- it's a place that celebrates music and music's influence on cultures throughout the world. I loved the hands-free audio guide that you put on and, then, as you stroll through the galleries, and stop at the displays for each country, it plays a sample of the country's musical traditions. It was just amazing! The displays are so well-done. We went on a Wednesday morning, and the galleries were not crowded. And, even if there were more people, it would still not feel crowded. The galleries are spacious, and I think everyone who wanders through this museum will have their own special encounter and experience with the exhibits. There's something for everyone! The second floor contained the global exhibits, and the first floor had modern music as well as fascinating displays of musical instruments. We happened to be in one of the galleries during the time they were playing a giant organ. Wow, what a sound! Not only are the exhibits fantastic, but the building is just beautiful. It's so modern and clean. And, just as a side note, those were the cleanest restrooms I've ever seen. The entire museum is a treasure. In my opinion, the MIM is an absolute must-see! I told my other family members that a visit to Scottsdale would not be complete without a visit to the MIM. And, you can easily make a day of it -- they even have a café. I'm a MIM fan!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank aloha056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,548 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,064
    415
    50
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Visit the World of Music”
Reviewed November 15, 2013

Music is something that we all share and enjoy. A visit to the MIM will open your eyes as to how the world enjoys their music with their unique instruments. Fascinating displays and history to educate the visitor arranged by geographic areas around the world. To fully enjoy plan on a 4-5 hour visit.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank saint5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
44 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Don't miss the MIM!”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The MIM is so interesting that I am planning a second trip! There are exhibits of instruments from every country in the world, as well as exhibits on influential instruments such as Steinway, Martin, etc. There is memorabilia from Lennon and Harrison, Elvis, Alice Cooper, Leonard Bernstein, Taylor Swift, The Who, Joplin, Muddy Waters, and many more. There is a huge exhibit on American Indian music, as well as a big section on the Caribbean. It is amazing how much culture and history can be gleaned from instruments! Who Knew?! You will if you go to the MIM! You will never forget your visit and you will be glad you went even if you don't know how to pluck a guitar or read a note of music. The several hours I spent enjoying the museum left me smiling for a long time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Covina, California
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Music in the Desert”
Reviewed November 13, 2013

Whether musical talent flows through every nerve in your body, or your musical skills and aspirations are more on the listening side, you’ll want to visit The Musical Instrument Museum in Phoenix, Arizona. Actually, the MIM is more like an encyclopedia of musical instruments rather than a museum.

The MIM has been open since April 2010. It’s a two story, 192,000 square foot extravaganza of musical instruments, which tell the musical history of virtually every continent and region of the world; from Africa to the Vatican. It has a lot of natural lighting illuminating its ten galleries in which you can see and hear music made in many different ways. At any one time there are more than 3000 instruments on display, and the displays change at regular intervals.


The Experience Gallery is the “touch me” room. In other galleries touch exhibits is prohibited. Here you can touch to your heart’s content. Visitors of all ages, from toddlers to senior citizens, are encouraged to handle and play the instruments in this gallery ranging from tiny ukuleles to a 7-foot diameter Chinese gong where you can create a “mighty sound.”

In the Artist Gallery the focus is on certain musicians, their instruments and others who contributed in some way to advancement of music. For example, the museum has the Steinway Model Z upright piano John Lennon owned and on which he composed Imagine. Some of the other artists featured in the gallery include Eric Clampton, Paul Simon, Dick Dale, Carlos Santana and George Benson. The first Steinway piano, made in 1836 is on display here.

When you’re in the Phoenix area, you’ll want to visit this museum.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank richardb1207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
103 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Very interesting - something for everyone”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This was much better than I expected. Having instruments from every country in the world, lets everyone walk around to see what they are interested in, in an organized way. Like the gift shop. Lots of good exhibits, including Women of Rock. Liked the part where you can play the instruments too. Great hands-on for kids. Nice snack bar/restaurant.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank W1nterBaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musical Instrument Museum also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Musical Instrument Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing