We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Popular Lunch Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Barbecue Company Grill and Cafe

Barbecue Company Grill and Cafe
Ranked #689 of 3,037 Restaurants in Phoenix
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: South Mountain
San Tan Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
54 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Popular Lunch Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013

Not far off I-10, about 8 minutes from Sky Harbour Airport, in an industrial area - only open for lunch and quite crowded with local repeat customers. Their smoked meatloaf is pretty unique (featured on a Travel Channel segment about barbecue) and quite good. Other offerings looked good, especially the stuffed potatoes. Worth a stop.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denison, Iowa
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great barbecue”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This is a great place for lunch, large menu. The place was packed, guess it always is. Since we were driving thru from Iowa, a very good thing we had a GPS to give directions. Would definitely give this restaurant 5 stars - super good.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharlene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
payson
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

No atmosphere or parking but GREAT food fast. Others could learn from this place how to run a resturant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jacob g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great place to eat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

I am originally from Kansas City, so I know my BBQ. This place was top notch and the food was absolutely amazing. My work doesn't require me to be back any time soon, but I may just take the long way and stop here more often.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank weldwerks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
250 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
“…You be the Judge…”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

(Our visit—26 March, 2010) I learned of this Barbecue restaurant while watching Food Network, which was featuring the prestigious Reno Barbecue Competition. Their barbecue took top prize, and as I knew we were going to be in the Phoenix area, I made a note to try it. Their website claims their barbecue has won over 25 National and International awards. It is located in an office park area in the south Phoenix/Tempe area and only open Monday through Friday from 1030 to 1500. My husband and I did not love the barbecue, but everyone knows barbecue is a hotly debated food item. I think its many awards warrant it a try by others. Everything was excellent quality, but the barbecue was just a little too sweet for our taste. Kudos for several excellent sides: the Kentucky blue cheese slaw, sweet corn medley, and garlic mashed potatoes. Soft drinks were self serve. Service was average.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank spontaneoustrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barbecue Company Grill and Cafe also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Barbecue Company Grill and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing