We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Grand Canyon experience”

Westwind Air Service
Book In Advance
More Info
$237.99*
and up
Sunset and City Lights Aerial Tour of Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Westwind scenic air and air/ground tours depart from Phoenix/Scottsdale, the Grand Canyon and Page, Arizona. See the best of Arizona in a Day! Every passenger has a window seat every time on all of our aircraft. Come Fly With Us!
Brantford, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Grand Canyon experience”
Reviewed November 29, 2011

Flying from Phoenix to the Canyon via a Cessna, and then flying into the Canyon via chopper was an awesome experience. The boat ride (more like a float) down the Colorado river was informative and gave a totally different perspective to the Canyon (i.e. looking up). The glass Skywalk and lunch were included in the trip. Our pilot (and "guide" for the day) Elijah was excellent. His goal was to keep us ahead of any crowds so we didn't waste any time in line-ups. This experience was money well spent.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank EVLJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    188
    9
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely wonderful - worth every cent”
Reviewed September 29, 2011

I can't say enough about the wonderful trip we had with Westwind. We took the Grand Canyon tour from Phoenix that landed and toured the park. The staff was very friendly and professional. Our pilot/tour guide kept us entertained all day with so many interesting facts about the area. This is the best way to see the Grand Canyon and well worth the cost!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaconsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“The Only Way to See the Grand Canyon!”
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We booked a 7 hour flight with Westwind Air Service to see the Grand Canyon, primarily as we were staying in Scottsdale and driving 4+ hours to get there wasn't an option - especially with two children! What a smart service - their Strapline "Every passenger gets a window seat" is accurate - the seat configuration in the small aircraft ( a Cessna Caravan) was such that the pilot plus all 9 pasengers all had a window seat - what you want on a scenic flight! The flight left from Deer Valley Airport and flew over the most magnificent desert terraine I have ever seen in my life. Tonto National Forest, Sedona, Navajo Indian Reservation (amongst others) to the Grand Canyon South Rim, for a 30 minute over flight. The flight was narrated providing insights into the history and geology of the region, but mainly the flight carried a group of 6 adults and 2 children who sat gaping mouthed and wide-eyed at the impossible to take in views below! The flight was incredibly smooth - allowing the 4 year old to snuggle up for a quick nap (albeit as we few over the Grand Canyon!!!!)
From Grand Canyon Airport we were driven by the pilot in a spacious, air-conditioned mini-bus to the park were we first ate lunch (included in the price) and then explored various points on the rim on foot!!!
Our guide was happy to provide plenty of information and even managed to show us an elk hiding in the park before making our way back to Grand Canyon Airport for a fast peaceful flight home! It was the RIGHT WAY to see this magnificent Wonder of the World! The pilot was warm, knowledgeable and clearly qualified, and the aeroplane was clean and in good condition! Everything ran on time and the entire expedition lasted approximately 6 and a half hours! The tour group was limited to 8 passengers - nice and small! We drove ourselves to Deer Valley Airport but the other passengers had used Westwind Air's pickup service. WHen our boys are a little older we will use this company again to take one of their flights into the Canyon for a hike!!!!! I was an Amazing Unforgettable experience!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Chantal42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestwindAir, Director of Sales at Westwind Air Service, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Thank you for your lovely review of the Deluxe tour. We appreciate that you took the time to write about your experience and look forward to seeing your family again on another one of our tours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Is it worth it?”
Reviewed August 3, 2011

I recently spent $400 on a 3 hours scenic flight over the Grand Canyon, Monument Valley and Lake Powell. While definitely scenic, I was suprised at how underwhelmed I was with the experience. The staff were certainly courteous and the slightly drab recorded audio informative, but the experience left me feeling that it was a little under valued for the price. The land tour in Monument Valley was probably the highlight, as you go to go around the massive forms that make this place so famous.... and the following day, I got to sit with my legs dangling into the Grand Canyon at sunrise ... and that was an ahhhhhh experience.

So this review is not specifically about failings in the Westwind experience, I just felt that the structures involved were best scene from ground level to accentuate the experience.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Aussieguy1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestwindAir, Guest Relations Manager at Westwind Air Service, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for putting a review of your experience on Trip Advisor. It is a little difficult to tell from your post which tour you were on as you mention an air only flight, then also talk about the ground tour in Monument Valley and about being on the ground at the Grand Canyon. Westwind has a variety of tours that cover all these options. Our goal is to provide the best possible experience on our tours to Monument Valley and the Grand Canyon. The best options are always those tours that have both the flight experience and the ground experience so you can enjoy these incredible places from a variety of perspectives. Thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Touring Flight to the Grand Canyon”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

Despite the fact that we've flown over the Grand Canyon many times on our way out to the West Coast, my wife and I never actually visited it. On a recent trip to Scottsdale, we had one extra day to do some sightseeing. We decided to take a one-day trip to the Grand Canyon. This review is not about the Grand Canyon per se as there is little bad you can say about this magnificent natural wonder of the world. But I did want to give kudos to the tour service that provided the flight. The name of the company was Westwind Air Service tours. This company specializes on flights to the Grand Canyon from Deer Valley Airport in Phoenix.

My wife and I have been on our fair share of tours over the years, but this one-day tour was very special. Like many tour companies, this one comes to your hotel early in the morning and takes you (and other passengers) to the airport for the flight to the Grand Canyon. The people are extremely friendly, courteous, and do not skimp on anything. The plane is roomy and the pilot/tour guide is well trained. If you are lucky like I was, you can even get to sit in the right hand side in the cockpit next to the pilot. Our tour guide, who also flew the plane of 8 people, was a history buff and very knowledgeable about the Grand Canyon and surroundings. Going out to the Canyon you fly over Sedona, which is breathtaking from the air; you also fly over Tonto National Forest, and the famous "painted desert." The commentary is worth the price alone, but the scenery from plane is outrageous. The trip includes lunch at a cafeteria at the Grand Canyon with no limits on how much you eat. This was a very generous tour and we had a great time. I heartily recommend it to anyone wanting to see the Grand Canyon in a day. The price for our trip, including lunch was $399/person.

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
6 Thank nyrxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WestwindAir, Guest Relations Manager at Westwind Air Service, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your wonderful comments and hope you'll try another one of our tours the next time you are in Arizona.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Westwind Air Service also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Westwind Air Service? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing