We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“joey p.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of WoodSpring Suites Phoenix I-17 North

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
WoodSpring Suites Phoenix I-17 North
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“joey p.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Mr williams at the front desk was truely a professional,and the whole value place staff was very professional and helpful,and made my stay at value place dunlap,in phoenix az,very peaceful,i shall be back in less then thirty days,i am looking forward to the value place dunlap team too putting a cheese burgers and chilli hot dogs vending machine in the first floor vending machine area.and also the metro center mall is in walking distance,from the hotel,there is a fudruckers burgers restaurant, 750 feet from the value place hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joey s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    10
    2
    3
    15
See reviews for
13
9
22
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Payson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The nature of my business has my wife and I staying in Phoenix 8 months at a time every year. Since our primary residence is in Payson Az, we utilize the accomodations of extended stay chains. After staying at other chains and Value Place locations in the past we have settled for Value Place Dunlap for the past 3 years. Here, they have them all beat for price, cleanliness, room size and, most importantly, friendly and helpful staff. We personally thank Will, Nick, and Vicki for their efforts in making a stay there a pleasant and welcoming experience.

P.S. Have a wonderful summer Will. Ginger & I are looking forward to seeing you again this Fall.

Room Tip: Your room is your home away from home. Extended stay accomodations aren't a vacation hotel on th...
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I was in Phoenix for a month to get some hiking done. I decided on the Value Place Dunlap
location because its close to the hiking trails. There are three affordable hotels to stay in this area. Value Place, Home Stead, and the Budget Lodge. No human being should ever stay at
the Budget Lodge. I reviewed them also with pics. And you wont believe how
filthy that place is. Ignore that place altogether. But Anyway.

The Value Place hotel at Dunlap is in a great location if you are in Arizona for hiking or backpacking. You are walking distance from trails that go in four directions for at least 15 miles each way. So you get at least four days straight of beautiful non stop scenery.
But thats not the only reason to stay there. You are also in walking distance to just about anything else you can think of. Right across the street there is a mall called Metrocenter Mall. Its a huge complex with stores inside the mall and outside. Any retail store you can think of is probably located there. They even have an amusement park called Castles N' Coasters. It sits on about 10 acres of land and has roller costers, drop towers, etc.

A mile south to Northern Blvd there is a Kmart. And grocery stores Albertsons and Sprouts are located on 19th and Norththern.

Now about Value Place. As advertised it is clean, safe, and very affordable. Will was the Manager while I was there, and he's a really nice guy. My room was clean all through out.
All the appliances were name brand. Huge fridge. Air conditioner blew ice cold on 90 degree days. They take security serious because there are security cameras everywhere. I paid a monthly rate advertised in the local paper of $699 for the month. There is a $100 security deposit. I paid with a credit card and got the deposit back in two days.

I want to give this hotel a huge thumbs up for their internet service. There is no wireless. Its wired in the room. It cost $10 a week or $25 a month. And the speeds are over 50Mbps.
I travelled all over the country and even at 4 star hotels I have never seen speeds that high in a hotel.

So over all my stay was fantastic. Never had a single problem. Got a lot of hiking done and took some beautiful pictures. I noticed the negative feedback from other people and I have to say its the farthest thing from the truth. Will the Manager was great, and very hospitable. Some of the comments were about his race, so that should tell you all you need to know.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuffyWalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The reception And lobby was decent. It wasn't until I went into the room to see what I gotten myself into. The carpet looked dirty so I didn't bother to take my shoes off. The bed was comfortable but I'm pretty sure it might have had bed bugs .... Anyways ... I'll know now to read reviews before booking a hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Persianhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

Booked hotel based on "value" averaging $30 a night for a minimum of 7 nights. Picked location due to business location for my project I was working on while in Phoenix. City has 3 Value Place hotels and this one has the cheapest rates due to the sketchy location near Metro Center mall and the many sub-par budget hotels up and down the I-17. If you are a family, stay at the 101 freeway location as this is the best location out of the three available in Phoenix. OK, now for the "get ready" things you will need to prepare for before you arrive here. First, check in is a nightmare. There was never a check-in desk person on duty. You had to ring on-site manager on a phone on the wall. Took more than 20 min each time to get the on-site manager to come to the front desk to check-in and check-out. Next, company takes an upfront deposit of $100 (charged to your CC immediately OR cash taken). Money refunded to your card a week following a room check for damage upon checkout. Weekly rate only (no night per night stays available) are charged up front so bring plenty of cash for your bill if you are not paying by CC. Next, and this is a biggie.......NO toilet paper, soap, shampoo or bathroom essentials are provided so be sure to pack some for your trip. Closest grocery store is 1.3 miles away on NORTHERN ave. Now, please note there is NO STOVE in the unit. Just a cooktop and micro. So, if you plan to cook, bring food items that you can cooktop or micro only. Rooms are standard but clean. Beds are standard and nothing special. Bring your OWN pillows as the ones provided are super hard and small. Towel service is on your own. Remember, this is a long term stay hotel (one week minimum) so you will be responsible for keeping your room during your stay and swaping dirty towels when needed. NOTE....You can only swap a complete set of towels at one time. No swaping towels one by one. That means you will need to take ALL of the towel set up to the front desk to swap for a complete NEW set. No exceptions to this rule (watch as you had your dirty towels to the front desk person (if he/she is even there) the face when they put their rubber gloves on to take your dirty towels.....they are not happy they have to do this!......makes you feel like you are doing something wrong......I just want some clean towels please!). Another recommendation for this property......Entrance to the hotel is a bit tricky. You can easily miss the entrance if you are not careful. The road leading to the hotel is a ONE WAY that runs parallel to the I-17. You have to watch carefully for the entrance of the hotel on this one way street. If you miss it, you have to get back on the freeway, travel a mile and a half to Northern ave and exit and turn around to come back to Dunlap and try again. Be on alert for the entrance. All in all, a very standard hotel but hopefully my recommendations on what to expect and bring with you will help ease some of the issues I experienced during my week stay there this past November 2012.

Room Tip: Rooms on top floor are most quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JayJay1011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIPVP, Guest Relations Manager at WoodSpring Suites Phoenix I-17 North, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback. Please know that all comments and concerns are shared with the manager and staff and when applicable used as an additional training tool. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

I checked into the Value Place, Dunlap on Friday (August 31st, 2012) at a weekly rate of $191.00 and have had quite a pleasant stay here. It's secure, clean, and affordable. It's not perfect, but it's one of the best I've seen in the Phoenix area. If I am prompted to return to Phoenix in the future, this will be where I stay.

Room Tip: I smoke and the only smoking rooms are on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012 via mobile

William was very nice in showing us the different rooms available, and after seeing 3 other hotels we got this one because it was clean, safe and cheaper then any other chain. Considering no lease is required this is a pretty good value.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank startako
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
North Mountain
Hyatt Place Phoenix - North
North Mountain
Sheraton Crescent Hotel
Sheraton Crescent Hotel
#57 of 173 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Candlewood Suites Phoenix
#70 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Courtyard Phoenix North
#44 of 173 in Phoenix
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
North Mountain
Comfort Suites Phoenix North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WoodSpring Suites Phoenix I-17 North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WoodSpring Suites Phoenix I-17 North

Property: WoodSpring Suites Phoenix I-17 North
Address: 8808 N Black Canyon Hwy, Phoenix, AZ 85051-4042 (Formerly Value Place Phoenix, AZ (Dunlap))
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > North Mountain
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — WoodSpring Suites Phoenix I-17 North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WoodSpring Suites is a new kind of extend-stay hotel. Our hotels are comfortable, our rooms are well-priced, and our customer service makes every guest feel welcome. If you need a hotel for a few nights, a week, or longer - you'll save more money the longer you stay with us. Pet-friendly - see website for details. Free wi-fi and access to guest laundry and vending help you relax while away from home. WoodSpring Suites. It's Simple. Done Better. Limited front desk hours - use a courtesy phone in the lobby or guest room for 24/7 guest support (including check-in) from our friendly staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your WoodSpring Suites Phoenix I-17 North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Value Place Dunlap Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing