We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good physical challenge with great scenery and views within the city”
Review of Piestewa Peak

Piestewa Peak
Ranked #9 of 230 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A good physical challenge with great scenery and views within the city”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I chose to try this hike with my husband during our vacation in August after looking up the top hikes in and around Phoenix and wasn't disappointed. A good challenge physically with a steep climb on uneven terrain. We chose to stop at the top of the stairs and not scramble the remaining meters to the peak. Nothing extreme to that point and still a good challenge, taking about 1 hour up and down. We started the hike around 10:30am on a weekday and there were a number of people but not too many that it was annoying. We found parking no problem near the trailhead. It was hot (36 degrees F) and we were sweating but nothing dangerous, we just brought a bottle of water each. The desert scenery and view of the city was great! I would do this hike again and recommend it to anyone who has an average to above average fitness level.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jaclynnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    182
    31
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Outstanding hike minutes from the city”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Relatively short, steep hike to a great view that is literally minutes from the city. Our family loves to hike and when in Phoenix this is a must do!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OSU_Fan1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
291 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“Closest mountain to downtown Phoenix”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

People flock to this park (so parking can get difficult) and most of them head for the peak. The trail can be wall-to-wall humans on a busy weekend afternoon. Great views from the top! It's steeper, though, that many visitors expect--take water and take your time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Feistygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great morning hike!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I have spent many early mornings and weekends hiking up and down this peak. The scenery is beautiful, especially if you can catch a sunrise.

Main tips:
1) Get there early. The trail gets VERY crowded and parking can be hard to find.
2) Wear sturdy shoes. The trail starts out with some stairs, but gives way to gravel and jagged rocks further up. (sunscreen is a good idea, too!)
3) Take plenty of water, especially in the summer
4) Stay on the trail. People get caught up here when they don't and slide down the side -- remember the gravel I mentioned? That stuff is REALLY difficult to climb.
5) Take your time and hike at your own pace, but step aside and let the fast people pass -- there are plenty who run/walk the trail all the time and are accustomed to the elevation gain.
6) Remember that the uphill hiker has the right-of-way.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank baergrizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great morning climb”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

If you are into hiking, Piestewa Peak is a must. You need to go early though if you want to find a parking spot without waiting. The gate opens at 5:00 am. In the summer, you need to be there by 5:30 am if you want parking without waiting. The climb is steep and a little over a mile. The views at the top are well worth the climb. Bring water in the summer.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank smatso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piestewa Peak also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Piestewa Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing