We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“YIKES”
Review of Piestewa Peak

Piestewa Peak
Ranked #9 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Merritt, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“YIKES”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

It was amazing I made it 3/4 of the hike we were told no problem for beginners well it is not for beginners but having said that it was really amazing and worth the trek

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElviraMerritt_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    320
    181
    30
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stairclimber!”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We made the mistake of starting this hike at 3 pm in 90 degree weather when we were still in east coast winter mode. We made it about half way up and decided we better turn around. The next morning, we arrived around 7 am and climbed to the top. It was a great hike, but essentially you are climbing stairs the entire time. Glad to have taken it on better prepared a second time. I wish this hike was close to my house!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelbug5115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A GOOD WORKOUT IF YOU ARE UP TO IT”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Be sure to take plenty of water and pace yourself. Don't attempt if too hot for you. On busy days, looks like a bunch of ants acending. Better: hike the trails around the mountain preserve. Fewer ants and great views.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tvlbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“strenous way up”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The views from the top are magnificent!
The way up is for intermediate hikers. We had to go a couple of times before we could hike all the way up!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Veronica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
161 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Get your hike on”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This is a free, well maintained, high traffic hike. If you head out here be prepared to do some serious hiking. This is a steep hike and you'll feel it definitely feel it. Bring some water and a good trusted pair of hiking shoes/boots.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank CDPorche
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piestewa Peak also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Piestewa Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing