We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Hard but rewarding!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Piestewa Peak

Piestewa Peak
Ranked #9 of 219 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hard but rewarding!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We were into our third week of vacation and difficult hiking in Arizona. Good thing as we needed the practice and conditioning to manage this one! Even with that, there were still those who were running the trail! One guy passed us four times! Crowded, but still room to pass or pull over for others as needed. This is a great hike, but not one to do if you want solitude.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tlpeck1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    164
    29
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
217 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Challenging, enjoyable hike in urban Phoenix!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Much more vertical than Camelback and certainly more challenging! Switchbacks line the mountain - some parts of the trail are lined with a small concrete barrier. Watch out for loose rocks though, have lost my footing here several times. Excellent view at the top!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank DJ B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
104 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best Hike in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

One of the greatest things about PHX is all the outdoor activities. This is a great hike and it is a challenge. Bring you water and your camera to take pictures because the view is AMAZING!!!

Helpful?
Thank SK8CJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queen Creek, Arizona
Level Contributor
424 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“we used to call it Squaw Peak - like the name of the street it's on”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a fabulous hike. It's also very popular with the locals, as well as tourists. If you want to get an indication of how busy it is on the trail, just see how many parking spots are available when you get there. I would go when its not crowded. I think you can enjoy the hike better that way, since there's only one trail up and the same one coming back down.

If you're hiking during the fall and spring, plan on going up the mountain early in the morning if you want to really enjoy your hike at the very best time. You can get away with hiking later in the day during the winter months. I don't recommend this hike in the summer unless you're really used to heat. Take plenty of water! This is not an option. Use sunscreen!

There are bathroom facilities at the bottom of the hill and that's it. I do not recommended this hike for small children. It is a very narrow and very steep path, that's why. There are steps along the trail at some places and the steps are very high.

There are some benches along the way where you can sit and rest.

As a nature lover, I would ask that if you're going to take an orange to eat along the way, please plan to carry your peels with you to the bottom of the mountain. That's my only complaint.

There are people who literally run up and down the mountain. All of the ones who were there the day we were there were patient and friendly. They don't "hog" the mountain, so don't worry about that part. There are older people, younger people, groups of people and single hikers.

It's an awesome view from the top. This peak is the 2nd highest peak in Maricopa county.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank lifeisverygood2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great hike”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Hiked the Nature Trail and it was great! The whole family (including a 3 and 6 year old) enjoyed it. The signage is a bit lacking though when you're out on the trail, so take a trail map with you.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Piestewa Peak also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Piestewa Peak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing