We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”

Sierra Bonita Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Sierra Bonita Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 3,113 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 7th St & Glendale Ave.
Description: The Sierra Bonita Grill is named after the historic Sierra Bonita Ranch in South Eastern Arizona. Founded by Henry Hooker in 1872, the Sierra Bonita Ranch was known for it’s hospitality and innovative ranching methods. We would like to celebrate the spirit represented by Mr. Hooker and other pioneer ranches throughout Arizona with our restaurant and hope to continue the tradition of great food and hospitality. Our menu reflects the hearty cooking style of Southern Arizona ranches, many of which were started by Spanish and Mexican families. We will continue to explore the ongoing Mexican and Latin influences on this area’s culture and food. Patio seating available to accommodate 30 people.
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went to Gilbert AZ to visit family and thought trip into Phoenix for dinner would be nice, as I have never been there before. The Sierra Bonita looked good on some reviews but I would not recommend it. No ambiance, everything is inside and the area did not look to desirable. We were seated in what they called the Arizona Room.....not! So disappointed. All the restaurants in the Gilbert area were so nice at Santana Village. JillW

  • Visited April 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Front Office Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Jill,

We're sorry that you were disappointed in your visit to Sierra Bonita Grill. We believe that our restaurant has a cozy and warm feeling and truly unique to the southwest.

Not sure what you were expecting, but again, sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    176
    68
    22
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Snohomish, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Tex/Mex Choice”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

This restaurant was rated one of the top in Phoenix. I cannot write enough positive things about this restaurant. We went to this restaurant after attending 5:00PM Mass in Phoenix. At 6:45PM it wasn't too crowded, but it was obvious that this place is a local favorite's place. The drinks and the steaks were delicious. The service was outstanding and the prices were very reasonable compared to what we're used to paying in the Seattle, WA area. I would definitely recommend this place to others who are looking for that special Tex/Mex variation.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
David,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a nice review for Sierra Bonita Grill. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us.

Hope you have a chance to visit again next time you make it to Phoenix.

Stay dry :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another one of "those"”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Time after time, I hear "Mexican" and well sadly it's not.

The decor is is cowboy themed...Not exactly what comes to mind when I think of Sierra Bonita.

We ordered the salsa, very boring and bland. Another one of THOSE that cater to your snow birds. The guac was just as boring. It tasted like something you would buy at a grocery store...maybe even a wal mart.

After those mess ups I knew I had to stick to my "rule" DONT ORDER MEXICAN FOOD.

I got the pork tenderloin. It was good, the sauce was sweet and it excited my tounge. The sides made me wonder if the chef knew had to cook..The sides did not compliment the tenderloin at all.

Simply put why be so misleading with the name...Why not Cowboy Grill? That fits.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arizonababy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Front Office Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Arizonababy,

We are not sure why you are so confused with our name and our food.

If you look at our Cuisine selection right here on Trip Advisor, it says Southwestern so if you were mislead and thought we were Mexican, we've sorry.

We are named Sierra Bonita after the Sierra Bonita Ranch in Southern Arizona. We are not a Mexican restaurant, we are a southwestern restaurant.

Our offerings are influenced by American ranching families and early Spanish settlers all blended together to bring you the exciting taste of the southwestern United States.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food was good but not what I expected from all the glowing reviews.”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Really wanted some great Mexican food while in Arizona but it was typical. Recommended to Richardson's l liked it much more.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Touringthesw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Touring the SW,

Sorry you wanted Mexican food and thought that we were a Mexican restaurant. As it says in our Trip Advisor profile, we are a Southwestern restaurant.

Our offerings are influenced by American ranching families and early Spanish settlers all blended together to bring you the exciting taste of the southwestern United States.

Your review is titled 'Food Was Good'....so we're glad you enjoyed your selections even if it wasn't exactly what your thought.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
213 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Came here while in Phoenix on business. Excellent food, and delicious Margaritas! Truly authentic food, reasonable prices and great service. They were busy busy when we arrived but reservation honored right n time. We would definitely return!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Front Office Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
CRKPORT

Thanks for the nice review. Glad you enjoyed a true taste of the Southwest. We hope that you enjoyed Phoenix and will have a chance to return to see us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Bonita Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sierra Bonita Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing