We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh So Satisfying!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sierra Bonita Grill

Sierra Bonita Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Sierra Bonita Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #36 of 3,037 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 7th St & Glendale Ave.
Description: The Sierra Bonita Grill is named after the historic Sierra Bonita Ranch in South Eastern Arizona. Founded by Henry Hooker in 1872, the Sierra Bonita Ranch was known for it’s hospitality and innovative ranching methods. We would like to celebrate the spirit represented by Mr. Hooker and other pioneer ranches throughout Arizona with our restaurant and hope to continue the tradition of great food and hospitality. Our menu reflects the hearty cooking style of Southern Arizona ranches, many of which were started by Spanish and Mexican families. We will continue to explore the ongoing Mexican and Latin influences on this area’s culture and food. Patio seating available to accommodate 30 people.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Oh So Satisfying!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

We discovered this restaurant a couple of years ago and each time we've visited, we've been impressed with the ambiance, lively atmosphere, friendly service, and of course, the uniqueness & palate pleasing entrees. We were seated promptly (we had made dinner reservations thru Open Table) in a booth (as requested). We each knew in advance what our main course would be......the oh so delicious pork tenderloin rubbed with oaxaca and espresso. I opted for a side salad with blue cheese dressing and my wife ordered the butternut squash soup. The soup came with drizzled maple crema on top that offered a visual delight to match the wonderfully flavored soup. It served as a perfect transition to our loins as did my side salad. The loins were so tender, prepared medium (chef's recommendation) with a little bit of pink inside. The sauce is delicious and you may want to request a couple of hard rolls to soak the sauce as none were offered with the meal. We were totally satisfied after finishing our meal but splurged on desert. We opted to split the Rocky Road Mousse. Delivered in a martini glass, the chocolate mousse had pieces of sweetened orange rind, nuts, whip cream and butter brickle. It was fantastic and more than enough for the both of us.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Thomas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thomas,

We are thrilled that you return to Sierra Bonita Grill when you are in Phoenix. It sure sounds like you know what you like and we're thrilled that we were able to live up to your expectations. Hope you enjoyed your stay in Phoenix and next time you are back, we'd love to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    63
    22
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
259 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“a delish, sparkling gem...location may be hidden but food is a beacon!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

my husband found this gem while invited to a function and took me back the next week since it was so yummy...i was ecstatic to share with an out of town friend as we looked for authentic southwestern food...we were not disappointed, and i, a tough critic was soooo pleasantly surprised!

from the friendly, no pressure valet, to the outdoor firepit and lovely patio, to the ambiance, service, and most of all locally sourced and generous portions of lovely food, it was a perfect experience!

the trout, chicken and carne asada we had sang with flavor and don't miss the avocado starter...so good that we booked our office holiday party in the great rooms in the basement...yes, there are basements in az :)

i can almost guarantee a wonderfully yummy and memorable evening if you try it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lkrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear lkrocks,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Sierra Bonita Grill! We really appreciate your kind words and are so glad that you found us through your husband.

We are also so glad that you found our Wine Room and banquet rooms downstairs and will be coming back to join us for your holiday party. We will do our best to blow your socks off for that event too!

See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
58 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistently Good Food. Variable Service.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Bad stuff first: Sierra Bonita does NOT need valet parking, yet they have it. That unnecessary snobbery knocks something off the tone before you even get inside. The service ranges from wonderful to abysmal. I think they're working on it, though, since the past few visits have been at least good and the most recent rates an "excellent." Food-wise, it's hard to go wrong. The poppers and the bacon-wrapped shrimp are my top two appetizers. For an entree, give serious thought to the cowboy stew or the red trout. If you need a serious hunk of beef, the "El Jefe" covers that base quite nicely.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank ShortBusRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Dear Short Bus Rider :-),

The valet parking is due to the limited parking that we have available. It is meant to be service to our customers, not a show of arrogance.

Thanks for the nice review. We are always working to improve our food and our service and comments like yours help us do so. If you ever have poor service, please feel free to ask for one of our managers and we will make sure you are taken care of.

We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Muy Bueno”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

My son, girlfriend and I just finished dinner at Sierra Bonita and were impressed.
All three of our meals were delicious. They had fish dishes and I had the Cowboy Stew which was amazing. The ambiance is classy artsy SW and the service was good.
Excellent margarita and sangria drinks and free valet as well. I'll go back !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PCflyfisher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thanks so much for the kind words about Sierra Bonita Grill, we appreciate each and every time that our customers take time to share their experience with us..

Glad you enjoyed our food and drinks to such. Look forward to seeing you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
az
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sierra Bonita, muy bonita!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

So glad we didn't listen to the reviewers who thought this was "nothing special". To start with, the service was great. Our server, Linda, was very friendly and gave us just the right amount of attention. The drinks, mojitos, were very good, although their Sangria looked very inviting...next time. The highlight of our night was the food and the presentation. We started with the freshly made guacamole and a trio of salsas...all very good. My husband had the grilled sea bass tacos and I had the carne asada tacos. Both were superb. Until this dining experience, I had not had really good carne asada tacos since a memorable restaurant experience in San Antonio over 20 years ago. We ended the meal with the Belgian Chocolate Cake that was fantastic. We loved the atmosphere and the history of the place, and Sierra Bonita Grill is now on our list of places we must stop every time we are in Phoenix, which is often!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank buddhacat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Thank you so much for having your own mind and giving us a shot. We appreciate you giving us the chance and stopping in. Glad that you and your husband enjoyed your meals and the atmosphere. We work hard to make your dining experience exceptional and provide you value.

Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Bonita Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sierra Bonita Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing