We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good!”

Sierra Bonita Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Sierra Bonita Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 3,154 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 7th St & Glendale Ave.
Description: The Sierra Bonita Grill is named after the historic Sierra Bonita Ranch in South Eastern Arizona. Founded by Henry Hooker in 1872, the Sierra Bonita Ranch was known for it’s hospitality and innovative ranching methods. We would like to celebrate the spirit represented by Mr. Hooker and other pioneer ranches throughout Arizona with our restaurant and hope to continue the tradition of great food and hospitality. Our menu reflects the hearty cooking style of Southern Arizona ranches, many of which were started by Spanish and Mexican families. We will continue to explore the ongoing Mexican and Latin influences on this area’s culture and food. Patio seating available to accommodate 30 people.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We came to eat here recently on a business dinner, and it was great. Good beer on tap and wonderful main courses. I got meatball soup (??) as an appetizer and am glad I got it --- very tasty and different. We had a hard time deciding what to get and the waitress did a nice job steering up towards good choices based on whatever everyone was looking for. We were all satisifed. We weren't in a 'wine' mood but based what I saw it looks like they have a decent selection if that's what you're looking for.

I wasn't impressed with the small amounts of chips/salsa/guacamole we had to order, especually since there were six guys sitting there scarfiing it all down. It was also a little hard to get in and park based on the location. The prices are resonable based on the portions/quality, but it's a little more than you might first expect. I liked how they had options (and price breaks) for different portion sizes.

I'll plan on eating here again next time I make it to Phoenix.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Berentski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Front Office Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Thanks for you nice review of Sierra Bonita Grill on your recent trip to Phoenix.

Reviews like yours help us improve our service and food so we appreciate it.

We hope you'll stop in next time you are in town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

223 - 227 of 276 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2012

Read so much about how tremendous the food was here. Granted, it was good ... but it had been built up so much in our heads that it didn't live up to that high expectation. The buttermilk chicken was very good but the star of the dish were the mashed sweet potatoes served as a side. Very tasty with just a little kick.

Thank Kgh23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

Thank you so much for the review, we appreciate the feedback.

Glad you like the sweet potatoes, that is one of our favorites..

Hope to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Found this place on trip advisor so we decided to check it out, good move. We did not know what to expect. We walked in and immediately notice how cute it was. The rustic quaint feel was relaxing. The food Carne Asade tacos we perfect. My parenter ordered the Fish Tacos, perfect. We will be back! What are our plans for tomorrow, perhaps tomorrow? Hummm! Try it, we think you will like it. You will not be sorry! Will we be back? You betcha!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michaelkasperski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Michael,

We're so glad that you stopped in and gave us a chance!

Glad you enjoyed your meal and hope to see you again soon.

Also, thanks for helping spread the word on Trip Advisor. These reviews are really helpful.

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable and charming. The food is great. Had the mahi mahi tacos. Margaritas are amazing. Casual, yet sophisticated. Will come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2012

Thanks for the kind words. We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor. These reviews help quite a bit and we are grateful to all of our diners who take time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Sierra Bonita is one of our go-to restaurants in Phoenix, especially when we feel like having a great mojito. You can't go wrong with anything you order and their specials are always very interesting. You may not need a reservation in the summer but definitely recommended in the winter months. Save room for the bread pudding!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank cwaunita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2012

We're so glad that you enjoy you experience at Sierra Bonita and feel strongly enough about it to write such a nice review.

The mojitos are tasty huh...

We home that when you are in Phoenix you stop in and visit us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Bonita Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sierra Bonita Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing