We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the atmosphere”

Sierra Bonita Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Sierra Bonita Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #33 of 3,080 Restaurants in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 7th St & Glendale Ave.
Description: The Sierra Bonita Grill is named after the historic Sierra Bonita Ranch in South Eastern Arizona. Founded by Henry Hooker in 1872, the Sierra Bonita Ranch was known for it’s hospitality and innovative ranching methods. We would like to celebrate the spirit represented by Mr. Hooker and other pioneer ranches throughout Arizona with our restaurant and hope to continue the tradition of great food and hospitality. Our menu reflects the hearty cooking style of Southern Arizona ranches, many of which were started by Spanish and Mexican families. We will continue to explore the ongoing Mexican and Latin influences on this area’s culture and food. Patio seating available to accommodate 30 people.
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Love the atmosphere”
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Very comfortable and charming. The food is great. Had the mahi mahi tacos. Margaritas are amazing. Casual, yet sophisticated. Will come back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
Thanks for the kind words. We appreciate your review on Trip Advisor. These reviews help quite a bit and we are grateful to all of our diners who take time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    66
    22
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Flagstaff
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Southwestern Food”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Sierra Bonita is one of our go-to restaurants in Phoenix, especially when we feel like having a great mojito. You can't go wrong with anything you order and their specials are always very interesting. You may not need a reservation in the summer but definitely recommended in the winter months. Save room for the bread pudding!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cwaunita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
We're so glad that you enjoy you experience at Sierra Bonita and feel strongly enough about it to write such a nice review.

The mojitos are tasty huh...

We home that when you are in Phoenix you stop in and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
150 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Tex Mex Charmer”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Great Food and Great Wine/Cellar

Our first night in Phoenix and I was wanting some Tex Mex food. We found this restaurant through Alaska Airline's Restaurant Guide and thoroughly loved the place. The restaurant staff were very friendly and helpful in choosing our food selection and because of their extensive wine collection, we found a great wine to accompany our meal. I ordered the Carne Asada which was very flavorful and my husband ordered the Fish Tacos which he enjoyed as well. For larger groups, they have a nice room in their wine cellar. Very clean and great service.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScenicWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thanks for such kind words. We hope you enjoyed your time in Phoenix and we hope that if you are ever in town again, you'll stop in again and try something else on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a truly comfortable restaurant. I love sitting out on the covered patio but I also love sitting inside! My favorite is the carne asada..either the dinner or the tacos depending on my hunger level. The staff is friendly and attentive.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SuZyPhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to Sierra Bonita Grill. We work hard to make this a comfortable place and it's nice to see that it is appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere...date or friends”
Reviewed May 19, 2012 via mobile

Food was well displayed and flavorful. Patio was very romantic for a date or fun for friends. Wait staff was very attentive and patient. Ambiance was mellow and relaxing. Don't leave town without a visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vogtr4271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jfpphoenix, Public Relations Manager at Sierra Bonita Grill, responded to this review, May 23, 2012
Thank you for the wonderful review, we are glad you enjoyed your visit to Sierra Bonita. We hope you'll visit next time you are in Phoenix.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sierra Bonita Grill also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Sierra Bonita Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing