We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Papago Park

Papago Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.99*
and up
Segway Tour of Tempe Town Lake in Arizona
Ranked #12 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park offers runners both paved and dirt trails.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014 via mobile

This was a nice place to go a spend a few hours, it's a very small hike to get to the top. You get great views, and it's very nice to just sit back and relax for a few hours. BEWARE of the bees, since there were a lot of them when we went!

Helpful?
3 Thank Johan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    212
    44
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
212 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

Climbed up hole in the rock during our holiday to find great views from the top. This was such a good find during our stay in Scottsdale. Had seen this during previous visits but did not know how easy it was to park close by and that the walk up would be so simple. A must do if close by.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KiddyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coaldale, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“what a view!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2014

Spectacular views!!! Its a beautiful place and is a must see on your stay in Arizona!! We were blown away by the beauty! It amazing to see such beauty in the desert!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 712MissLynn712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So much exploring!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2014

Papago Park is a wonderful area for visitors to get a great sense of the area! There are some trails that allow you to "hike" up small ridges to enjoy a panoramic view of Phoenix. The botanical garden and zoo are also located within the park. The Hole in the Rock is my favorite place to visit in the park!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A day at the Zoo & Papago Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

I was in PHX for business, and had a day to myself before a week long of training indoors and I wanted a feel of dessert/hiking/steaming hot living experience. A few minutes away, was Papago Park, the nearest place for a fix that would not send me in a spin back to cool air-conditioned hotel. I opted to first spend the morning strolling through the zoo and early evening I went for a brisk hike to the Hole-IN-The-Rock. Other than the time of the year, could price be another factor there were so few visitors at the zoo? It was great to see and hear the kids amazement as they peaked through the glass to see the reptiles! It also offers a camel back ride and a trolley ride. Only thing I found lacking was the option of food. The walk to the rock is just a cross the parking lot, and it is a good hike for a non-hiker and ending of the day! I was smart enough to have a hat, running shoes and a bottle of water, however there were others with flip-flops! That is how easy of a hike it is, but I would still be cautious and go prepared. Another option, was to visit the botanical garden.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank B. G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papago Park also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Papago Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing