We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous hike minutes from the airport” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Papago Park

Papago Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.99*
and up
Segway Tour of Tempe Town Lake in Arizona
Ranked #13 of 226 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park offers runners both paved and dirt trails.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
200 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hike minutes from the airport”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

Looking to kill some time before a flight? This great park near the airport has some beautiful red rock formations and is a great place to enjoy the desert. If you have even more time, it's adjacent to the Desert Botanical Gardens which are spectacular.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMoAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    314
    208
    40
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Ma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Neat place to visit.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We walked the short hike up to the Hole in the Rock at Papago Park.
Something for all ages to do. The views of the city are very pretty from the top, Down below there is a what I would call a topical oasis. Lots of palm trees and places to eat a picnic lunch. Nice stop if your in the area, The Phoenix Zoo and Botanical Gardens are in the same area.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Oconnellgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Free & Cool...really”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

I really enjoyed the park and the "hole".
I must admit we drove around a bit until we found it.
Just follow the botanical /zoo signs then bear right instead of left.
We were there when it was 103 degrees, but when you make your
way up to the hole in the rock the breeze almost blows you away, along with a great view.
Older or infirmed folks will not make it to the hole.
I am a klutz and it was a little intimidating, but worth it.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bxclent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Hole in rock”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

loved the park & being able to walk up the path to the Hole In the Rock to get a beautiful view of the area. Would be great area to take kids,pretty play area with soft path.Lake was pretty too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katlovesbaseball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
167 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Urban fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

If you are in the downtown area this is a great park to hike or ride a bike. Nicely maintained and accessible for young and old.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 2fromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papago Park also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Papago Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing