We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful park”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Papago Park

Papago Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$48.99*
and up
Segway Tour of Tempe Town Lake in Arizona
Ranked #12 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This park offers runners both paved and dirt trails.
Gearhart, Oregon
Level Contributor
468 reviews
172 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
“Beautiful park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

This is a beautiful place to visit. The red rocks throughout Phoenix are a special kind of beauty. This park is nice, not in the sense of English gardens but it is pretty with red rocks and greenery. I did see a family with black lab climbing rocks. There is an orientation relief map in front of the museum that explains a lot of the features of the land around you. Worth a brief stop to me but for a family with young children and dogs it must be a great place.

Helpful?
Thank jamesccasterline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    326
    212
    44
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Point Arena, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great short trek!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

The Papago Park needs some TLC on the grounds, the lakes, park benches and other facilities. I would say this beauty may not be managed well. However it is a great short hike up to the Hole in the Rock and WOW what a view of the surrounding area!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank trippy0nes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“THE BEST THING IN TOWN”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Papago Park is the best place to visit ~ picnic, hike, bike, lounge ~ Great for family reunions and parties. Is just as nice as it was when I was a kid growing up in Phoenix. Don't let the government change it!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank peelypaint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surprise, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“gorgeous and relaxing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very relaxing and family friendly place to just sit back and enjoy. i have been there a couple of times with my family and it is well worth the drive (live in Surprise) -- beautiful ponds and great walk into the "mountain" that overlooks the park.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank marcib16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedros, Jaliso Mexico
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Favorite place for years...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

After being away from Arizona for 11 years Papago Park was the first place I went to...I strolled around in the morning silence even though the park was only minutes from my hotel. Even the people who were there honored the quietness. I went back the next day to Hole in the Rock and the picnic areas..Marvelous. Evidence of other animals aside from the quail and ducks that were enjoying the morning sun also..Took some fantastic pictures and made new memories..

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank senorapeggyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Papago Park also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Papago Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing