We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge collection, wish the a/c had been running better”

Hall of Flame Museum of Firefighting
Ranked #21 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The world's largest firefighting museum chronicles the history of the profession and commemorates fallen firefighters.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Huge collection, wish the a/c had been running better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The museum houses a phenomenally large and professionally restored collection of fire memorabilia. It's fun to look at all the trucks, but honestly I got a bit bored about halfway through. Enjoyed "driving" the one truck they had open to sit in and testing out the gear. Depending on how much you read, you can spend 30 min to 3 hours here. We spent about 45 minutes; we probably would've spent more if the a/c had been running well in all the rooms. If you have a AAA membership, you get a discount on admission, which was worth paying.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank wmk191
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    184
    66
    17
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Historical and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

i attended a birthday party here with my twp daughters when we first came to the area and it was a lot of fun. The museum has a large assortment of firefighting equipment and vehicles that you can actually touch and feel and they even let the kids climb all over some of them. They had a nice area for birthday cake and such but the best part was the ride on the firetruck. They had restored an old fire engine and they let everyone at the party climb aboard for a shory ride. We went out by the Phoenix Zoo and they had the siren going and it was a lot of fun and the kids enjoyed it too. A really unique place to have a birthday party and the staff was very nice and proud of what they did.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank DesertSplash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“great history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

been here more than once, gives school children great opportunities, very informative, I highly recommend. all my grandchildren have loved this place

Helpful?
Thank b d m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hills, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hot Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Visited this museum with my daughter who is a Pari-Medic/RN and started with a Fire Department. She was enthralled as I was with the Museum, like a kid in a candy shoppe.

Helpful?
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice Museum”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

I enjoyed the visit because my Dad was a fireman. My two girls were a little bored. They could climb on one engine and there was small play area for younger ones.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kev_OC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hall of Flame Museum of Firefighting also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Hall of Flame Museum of Firefighting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing