We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DaVinci Exhibit Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Arizona Science Center

Arizona Science Center
Book In Advance
$238*
and up
Sunset and City Lights Aerial Tour of Phoenix
Ranked #16 of 218 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Located in the heart of Downtown Phoenix, Arizona Science Center has been a hub for science and discovery for the community and visitors. The Center features more than 300 hands-on exhibit, live demonstrations, a state-of the art Dorrance Planetarium, a five-story IMAX(R) theater, and newly opened, CREATE at Arizona Science Center - a place where science, design and engineering collide!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator, Food available for purchase, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking, Activities for older children
Jefferson, Maryland
Level Contributor
153 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“DaVinci Exhibit Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Most of the exhibits are geared for elementary aged students but the DaVinci exhibit compensated for that. We were in town for the international science fair and received a discount. The DaVinci exhibit was extensive and amazing. I highly recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank ticoalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    306
    175
    72
    13
    17
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
phoenix
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“awesome place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

there is NOTHING not to like about this place. Hands on for everyone, educational, fun, interesting. THE place to go if you visit Phoenix.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jama J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apache Junction, Arizona
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lots to do for kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A great attraction for young and old but the kids will love the abundance of hands on activities they can participate in.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ajreaper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
88 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Wonderful, but can be unpleasantly overcrowded”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

We went to see the daVinci exhibit (really excellent, with some true mind-blowing parts - especially the remarkable investigation of the Mona Lisa!), but found that we couldn't get near any of the other parts of the museum because the whole building was literally wall-to-wall school children, almost all of whom were under no effective adult supervision or control. We are thrilled that children can visit this amazing, interactive place, but those in charge of operations were letting far too many visitors (99% of them busloads of school children) in at one time. We visited in mid-Spring, admittedly the time in the school year when teachers want to schedule as many field trips as possible, but venues similar to ASC strictly control the number of large groups they admit on any given day. ASC needs to do the same. Fees here are expensive, so visitors like us really got badly cheated. If crowd control had been better, we would certainly give ASC five stars; as it was, we would only give it three and a half stars if that were possible.

A few comments about eating here. The in-house Cafe serves good, prepared-to-order burgers, passable sandwiches and salads, snacks and beverages. But be advised that this Cafe is in a windowless room, inside a raw-concrete-walled building, so it feels like a bunker or the basement of a factory. Sound is amplified, so the room can be disturbingly noisy. There is also a room called The Lunchroom, a place much like a school lunchroom, where people can eat lunches they bring themselves. Industrial-style picnic tables are provided, as are vending machines. Convenient, but not much atmosphere.

We will return some day this summer, when school is out, to experience the various great offerings here, but this visit was disappointing. And exhausting.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank OldGrayGrammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Florida
Level Contributor
1,130 reviews
327 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I like that this center is more science than play focused (Phoenix has a nearby kids museum for younger kids). Because of that, I would say it is better for kids probably 7 and older. Younger kids would certainly be entertained but would not really understand everything. Also, don't think you need children to visit. There were plenty of kidless couples, teenagers and adults enjoying the exhibits the day we were there. They have the typical museum store and small concessions area. We got free entry through ASTC reciprocity.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rather_Nomadic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arizona Science Center also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Arizona Science Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing