We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Camels!”
Review of Phoenix Zoo

Phoenix Zoo
Ranked #11 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Phoenix Zoo and explore a wondrous world of curiosity, imagination and discovery. For more than half a century, the Zoo and its animals have amazed guests from across Phoenix and around the globe. Whether you are on the lookout for awe-inspiring Asian elephants, on safari to spot the great Sumatran tiger or seeking towering giraffes roaming the savanna - a day at the Zoo offers adventures like no other place in the Valley. With cafes, shops, lush gardens and exciting experiences like Stingray Bay, Giraffe Encounter, Monkey Village, Safari Train, 4-D Theater and many more, your visit to the Zoo will be memorable for the entire family. The Phoenix Zoo is one of the nation's largest non-profit zoos, committed to conservation and providing experiences that inspire people and motivate them to care for the natural world.
Hicksville, NY
Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Loved the Camels!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Two Adults no kiddies went for a Camel ride at the Zoo! It was Great! It was worth the extra $5 per person. A lot of walking around and the weather was gorgous! Especially coming from NY! Used AAA card for discount on admission

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank zazuHicksville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,106
    767
    296
    70
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
161 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“More than just kids go to the zoo”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

My husband and I spent several hours on a lovely Friday afternoon and really enjoyed ourselves. We were among many adults couples taking advantage of a beautiful February day. The zoo is quite large (1,400 animals, including 30 species that are endangered or threatened) and has programs to actively save endangered species. The Arabian Oryx was almost extinct -- but now it's thriving at the Phoenix Zoo. There are facilities throughout the zoo for refreshments, resting and refreshing.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, New York
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Baby Bear at the Zoo”
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

This Zoo is very unique in that it is set in the desert so it gives a wonderful feel like you're actually in the type of climate that many of the animals would be in in their natural environment. The zoo is an easy walk on flat terrain, some parts are in direct sunlight & other parts are completely shaded. The highlight of the zoo is the baby bear interacting with the mama bear, a must see! The zoo is affordable and great for singles, couples, families and retirees! The botanical garden is next-door and in between the Gardens is a small park with shaded picnic areas, a great way to spend the day would be to go to the Zoo, then have a picnic and then go to the Botanical Gardens!

Helpful?
Thank rbrown333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Branson
Level Contributor
95 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“ok, but I've seen much better.”
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Went by myself when my husband was in meetings. I'm comparing my visit to other zoos we've been to. The zoo had alot of dirt paths, which I thought was strange. There was alot of winding around and re-tracking. Alot of walking in between exhibits(alot of which had nothing in them due to it being winter). The animals that were out were not entergetic at all, just laying around, most of which you could barely see. The BEST part of the zoo is the spider monkey exhibit, where the monkey were running free and you walk amongst them, very entertaining! They do have the stingray feeding which I did not do, but it appeared you have to buy to see them. I would not pay the regular admission price, as I had a zoo pass to another zoo so it was 1/2 price for me.

If you ever get a chance to go to the Omaha, Henry Doorly Zoo, it's the best I've seen!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank funplace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
53 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Zoo You Should Visit”
Reviewed February 12, 2014

1400+ animals to view and photograph. The animals have plenty of space to move about and the zoo has successfully made the environment representative of the animal's natural habitat. Staff is very helpful so if you cannot read a map there are people who are knowledgeable and courteous to offer you help. For the adventurous, there is the opportunity to try zip lining. If you have an interest in visiting a zoo, this is one you should.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LouisM565
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Zoo also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing