We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice zoo!”
Review of Phoenix Zoo

Phoenix Zoo
Ranked #11 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Phoenix Zoo and explore a wondrous world of curiosity, imagination and discovery. For more than half a century, the Zoo and its animals have amazed guests from across Phoenix and around the globe. Whether you are on the lookout for awe-inspiring Asian elephants, on safari to spot the great Sumatran tiger or seeking towering giraffes roaming the savanna - a day at the Zoo offers adventures like no other place in the Valley. With cafes, shops, lush gardens and exciting experiences like Stingray Bay, Giraffe Encounter, Monkey Village, Safari Train, 4-D Theater and many more, your visit to the Zoo will be memorable for the entire family. The Phoenix Zoo is one of the nation's largest non-profit zoos, committed to conservation and providing experiences that inspire people and motivate them to care for the natural world.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice zoo!”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

Enjoyed the zoo very much. The walk-through with the little monkeys was a nice surprise. The only really down side is that they had several exhibits where we couldn't see any evidence at all that they actually had animals in them (like the orangutang and the african dog ones, for example).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank malicetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,105
    767
    296
    70
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Taos, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is a cool zoo!”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I was looking for something to do with my 3 year old and the Phoenix Zoo fit the bill. While it is a little bit pricey, the zoo is clean and large enough to not feel too crowded (even when there are 30 bus loads of kids there too!).
Will definately come here again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst zoo I've been to.”
Reviewed April 18, 2013

This zoo is lame. What kind of zoo has coyotes? I see them crossing the road every night by my house. Also, they have small pools of water with little fish in them, who cares? I go to a zoo to see exotic animals. Yes, they have monkeys but they're the smallest ones possible. Where's the gorillas? I went to check out the reptiles and thought it was cool they had a viper. Well, the viper was removed from the exhibit. What the hell? They also had whole sections to just tortoises. Now that is what I call excitement! (Hope you notice the sarcasm here). Then they had a letting zoo and the only animals they had was goats. I can go to a local farmer and pet his damn goats. If you're 2 years old maybe this is all cool but otherwise it's a waste of money and time. BORING!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Trents4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
197 reviews
68 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience for the whole family”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The Phoenix zoo is a great place to spend the day with friends and family. This large zoo is very well maintained, organized and clean. The animals are spread out over an enormous area. The walking paths wander in and around large enclosures for the animals. Make sure to take a zoo map, as there are so many different paths you can take, you don't want to miss a thing. The animals have their own keepers and the caretakers. You see employees of the zoo everywhere. The bathroom facilities we visited were clean. There are many choices for buying food, so it is not necessary to bring your own. the gift shop at the entrance/exit has a great selection of items. The books are particularly great for kids and would make a special gift. We spent about four hours at the zoo, so plan to spend the day. Feel free to ask the individual animal keepers questions. We really enjoyed spending time with the elephant keeper. She was most informative and such a passionate young woman, you could tell she loved her job. There were also some amusement rides, though I am not sure how many. I am uncertain about the cost for children, adults cost 20$ senior 15$ (65 and up) This is a very popular attraction for school groups. The zoo is so spread out, you will never feel it crowded, unless you are walking through the reptile tanks, which is located in a much smaller building. the zoo is always expanding so you will be impressed with the size, location and natural surroundings of the animal enclosures. The animals are celebrated here and honoured, often rescued from less desirable owners. A great place to spend the day and learn about the animals. Enjoy!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blondie540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tucson
Level Contributor
54 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed April 17, 2013

combine this with a few hours at papago park, I love this quaint and pleasant zoo. I wish though that zoos had an adults only day!!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank danielTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Zoo also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing