We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Early” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phoenix Zoo

Phoenix Zoo
Ranked #11 of 218 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Phoenix Zoo and explore a wondrous world of curiosity, imagination and discovery. For more than half a century, the Zoo and its animals have amazed guests from across Phoenix and around the globe. Whether you are on the lookout for awe-inspiring Asian elephants, on safari to spot the great Sumatran tiger or seeking towering giraffes roaming the savanna - a day at the Zoo offers adventures like no other place in the Valley. With cafes, shops, lush gardens and exciting experiences like Stingray Bay, Giraffe Encounter, Monkey Village, Safari Train, 4-D Theater and many more, your visit to the Zoo will be memorable for the entire family. The Phoenix Zoo is one of the nation's largest non-profit zoos, committed to conservation and providing experiences that inspire people and motivate them to care for the natural world.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
282 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Visit Early”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Glad we visited right away at opening as the animals seemed to be more active early in the day and the parking lot was not full like it was when we left several hours later. Only disappointment was the smaller number of animals close for viewing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank TravelerG8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    887
    649
    255
    64
    22
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Children + Animals + Water = Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Our grandchildren love to go to the Phoenix Zoo, and since their parents have become members, they get to go on a regular basis.

Today, we took the kids on our own...no parents to say "Yea" or "Nay" to ideas that sprung from the tiny mouths. First stop was the giraffe enclosure. Got to climb to the tower and look for the long necked critters. Then we went to ride the Safari Train. A "ChooChoo" to the conductor and we were off! It used to stop at several places along the way, but now it is a non-stop ride. This is one of the best ways to get to see the zoo and where you would like to go next. The line for the giraffe feeding was already getting started, so we decided to skip that attraction...the zip line also had quite a line forming (that was $10 a zip, so it was a no go for us). Want to ride a camel? You can do that here too!

What did our grandkids decide to do? Play on the playground behind the carousel and wade in the stream that flows under the treehouse and slide. They spent more than an hour splashing and running up and down the stream (it has a sandy shoreline and sandy bottom so there was no problem with stones or branches). Then we had lunch (hot dogs and hamburgers, what else!
By this time the 2 year old was starting to fall asleep while eating her hotdog, so we decided to pack it up and head home.

Too bad we did not get to see the rest of the animals or play in the splash pad areas, but we can save that for another day.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great zoo for the family to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The whole family enjoyed this zoo. They really take advantage at the AZ landscaping to incorporate the habitats. My kids even commented on how nice it was to see the animals in something other than the a cement enclosure. I thought the extras were reasonably priced. Feeding the giraffes was the highlight, even if it was only a few treats that you give them. Note on this activity. It is only available 2 hours out of the day and is on a first come first serve basis.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAM7769
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful zoo!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Lots of shady places in this zoo! Very clean and many places to get a cold drink and something to eat. A unique attraction in which you get to go in a money enclosure.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank SusanJ2920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, OH
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great for families of all ages”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Great layout and collection of wildlife. Especially loved the giraffe exhibit where you can feed the giraffes!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank whitt1travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Zoo also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing