We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Relaxing visit”
Review of Phoenix Zoo

Phoenix Zoo
Ranked #11 of 228 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Phoenix Zoo and explore a wondrous world of curiosity, imagination and discovery. For more than half a century, the Zoo and its animals have amazed guests from across Phoenix and around the globe. Whether you are on the lookout for awe-inspiring Asian elephants, on safari to spot the great Sumatran tiger or seeking towering giraffes roaming the savanna - a day at the Zoo offers adventures like no other place in the Valley. With cafes, shops, lush gardens and exciting experiences like Stingray Bay, Giraffe Encounter, Monkey Village, Safari Train, 4-D Theater and many more, your visit to the Zoo will be memorable for the entire family. The Phoenix Zoo is one of the nation's largest non-profit zoos, committed to conservation and providing experiences that inspire people and motivate them to care for the natural world.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing visit”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Nice zoo, nothing really to write home about. The price I thought was a little high after I visited the zoo. The elephant looked average, the tiger and lion exhibits were nice but the BEST was monkey cage. I was GREAT when you walked into the area and the monkey are running wild.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stash279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,096
    762
    294
    70
    29
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
45 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good zoo to visit.”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I enjoyed the visit to the zoo, the animals are obviously well cared for and the enclosures are quite nice. I didn't eat here so I don't know about the quality of food but if you're looking to get some up close photos and experiences (feeding a giraffe) then please visit the Phoenix Zoo!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank deb8699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
216 reviews
94 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“a great zoo”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

this zoo is spread out,so prepare for walking. They do have a train that runs around with a get off and on type of deal.... usually, they have keepers around who can answer questions and do live exhibits with some of the animals.... it's worth the visit

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Herman02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“ZooLights”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

I cannot speak for the zoo during the day as I've not been, but I went for ZooLights in December. There were a number of lit attractions, with some moving and some stationary. They had a number of metal animals with lights and lighting the trees/cacti/bushes. The light show at the big lake was interesting, but I wish I knew where the best viewing locations had been so I could position myself where I could see the whole thing. We went as a family with a few teens and even they enjoyed it. This event would be great for young children as well. It was quite busy so make sure to get there early!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank serenadethesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottsdale
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Worth seeing”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I raised my kids in San Diego, enjoying many visits to the famous San Diego Zoo. But acknowledging that the animal collection is not as large, I like the Phoenix Zoo better. It's more natural, less paved, and less crowded when I went there. The time I spent there was limited, though my new annual pass will make it easy to see the rest anytime I want. But the animals were easy to see and the atmosphere was relaxed.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank silkyapril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Zoo also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing