We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Day @ Average City Zoo” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Phoenix Zoo

Phoenix Zoo
Ranked #11 of 226 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the Phoenix Zoo and explore a wondrous world of curiosity, imagination and discovery. For more than half a century, the Zoo and its animals have amazed guests from across Phoenix and around the globe. Whether you are on the lookout for awe-inspiring Asian elephants, on safari to spot the great Sumatran tiger or seeking towering giraffes roaming the savanna - a day at the Zoo offers adventures like no other place in the Valley. With cafes, shops, lush gardens and exciting experiences like Stingray Bay, Giraffe Encounter, Monkey Village, Safari Train, 4-D Theater and many more, your visit to the Zoo will be memorable for the entire family. The Phoenix Zoo is one of the nation's largest non-profit zoos, committed to conservation and providing experiences that inspire people and motivate them to care for the natural world.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
541 reviews
286 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 606 helpful votes
“Pleasant Day @ Average City Zoo”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Nice zoo, with some nice spacious exhibits. Nothing overly exciting from this zoo-buff, but it was pleasant stroll in a nice clean zoo. Love the big tortoise, he was huge. And, really appreciate a zoo that doesn't enclose their animals in small confines like prisoners, these exhibits were spacious. As an animal lover I thank you for that.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank bruce p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,055
    737
    279
    68
    26
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
61 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a huge disappointment”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

December 29th three adults two children went to the zoo. Most of the animals were on vacation...the grounds are awful. The grounds appear to be unfinished and could be dangerous to active children. I paid over $60 to get in and the first few attractions needed to be paid for to participate. Many sign regarding people who have donated, not much to show for all that $. I love the zoo, visit the zoo in very city....not worth the time or $$$$$$$$

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hiexpectations6942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A lot of walking...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

I love zoos anyway, but this is one of the better zoos I think. A lot of times you can't see some of the animals, but there are so many displays of animals that it makes up for it. I love the sting ray exhibit where you can pet them.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
95 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Not worth the admission”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

My wife likes going to zoos, so we have visited a few. This was on of the worst. It's OK if one wants to go for a walk, but I think there are better parks in and around Phoenix if walking is the main objective.

Admission for adults is $20, $15 for seniors. But ecen at $15, I would not bother again

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank ergoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Huge place and great for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Easy to walk around and enjoy seeing all the animals. Our daughter loved the kid's petting zoo, the Discovery Farm and the Carousel. Great place for a family to spend several hours!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank dbakersbts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phoenix Zoo also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Phoenix Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing