We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Side Excursion!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hole in the Rock

Hole in the Rock
Ranked #14 of 219 things to do in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“Perfect Side Excursion!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

No matter what brings you to Phoenix, this is a nice side activity that will appeal to most everyone. Features interesting geological, and historical attractions

We drove from the East Valley in less than 30 minutes on the 202, and spent an hour hiking, climbing, exploring. I took the easy trail around and did some photography. The kids climbed the face (mild to moderate bouldering exposure) and we met in the hole in the rock.

On a layover at the airport? You can get here by taxi for less than $30, grab some sunshine, great views, and ancient HoHokam culture.Phoenix zoo is a few steps away, as well as ramadas for picnics.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shawn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    206
    53
    4
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
129 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Cool and Quick with a Spectacular View”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We stopped here on the way out to Sedona, and I'm glad we did. The view was spectacular. The hike up to the hole in the rock was easy, and the path had stairs carved into it as well. Once on top you had a nice view of camping areas, the zoo and a distant view of down town Phoenix. We went in the morning, so the sun cast a cool relaxing shadow over the viewing area on top. I am glad we went and would go again.

Also, the entrance to Hole in the Rock is off of the same road as the Zoo entrance. If you are taking a trip to the Zoo, this can be a quick side trip that is certainly worth it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enterprise, Alabama, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great Free Attraction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

We were in Phoenix as part of a weeklong roundabout of Arizona/Nevada. We had a few minutes and decided to go lok at the Hole in the Rock. Don't be frightened when you see it from the parking lot. There's a relativeley easy walk up the backside (even for a 50 year old fat man), Great view, great picture op, my 13 and 11 year old loved it. Wear tennis shoes or hiking boots and it's well worth spending the hour it takes from the time you get off the freeway until you are back on it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rae_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Great view of the city. Fairly easy walk. A great free thing to do. Close to other things to do. This was a great stop on our trip to Phoenix.

Helpful?
Thank nevermeant2say
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baldwin Park, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Must see!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is great FREE outing for kids and adults. This hike does have areas that are challenging for youngsters (3-5 years old) but my 3 year old son, as well as my other 2 kids (7 & 12) and they all enjoyed it! I would wear running/tennis shoes cause this somewhat of a steep hike. The Botanical Gardens and Phoenix Zoo are off the same street/parking area. If you don't mind the walking, I would suggest taking the Light Rail Train that takes you into downtown Phoenix which is not to far down the road. (All day pass was only $4 for adults.)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gani1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hole in the Rock also viewed

Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Hole in the Rock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing