We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok stay but not without issues”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Easy to park and check in was smooth, but non smoking room had been recently smoked in. A quick change of rooms and we had a good nights sleep.

Ok so while the smoky room may not be an obvious fault for a hotel, it does show that the housekeeping hadnt bothered to try and remove the smell, we all sign clauses on entry to hotels that if we smoke there will be a fee of around $250 for a clean, but it seems no one uses the money for cleaning. That's a shame.

PEOPLE, DO NOT BE SO RUDE AS TO SMOKE IN A NON SMOKING ROOM, ITS GROSS!

On the plus side we got handed a copy of a map on checkin showing the local restaurants and other things, very useful.

All in all a good nights sleep and a fine hotel, but they need to improve the housekeeping.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Five15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy D, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Hampton Inn & Suites North Phoenix/Happy Valley for your recent visit to our area as well as taking the time to share your thoughts about your experience. We always take the feedback we receive as invaluable and utilize it as learning opportunity to make our hotel and team stronger.

I apologize for the issues you experienced with a previous guest smoking in the guest room you were offered. We do have a 100% smoke free facility and do our best to try and limit any smoking on property however we are not always successful. We have taken this response as an opportunity to further the training of our housekeeping team to ensure that no other guest receives a similar experience with their stay.

We do hope to have you as our guests again should you be inclined to give us another try.

Thank you again for your comments and please do not hesitate to contact me if I can be of any assistance, now or in the future.

Jeremy Dunkin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (909)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 909 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed here prior to heading to the grand canyon the next day. This hotel was super clean, large rooms, friendly staff, and super close to walmart, red robin, and many other places to eat and shop. I would definitely stay again if looking for a 1 or 2 nite stay. /the beds are the best.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cliftonlaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy D, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind words! We strive to provide premier rooms and service to all of our guests so I am delighted to see that we were able to do just that for you. We are also excited to hear that you enjoyed our wonderful beds while you were with us.

We hope that you enjoyed your trip to the Grand Canyon and wish you safe travels for your next adventure!

Jeremy Dunkin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Hotel is very nice and close to shopping, movies and restaurants. All the staff was friendly and offered assistance. The pool was the cleanest pool I have ever been in. I would stay again or recommend to others.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy D, Opertaions Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Sharon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with the world. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much and that you were able to make great use of our fantastic pool.

We hope to see you again soon!

Jeremy Dunkin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights prior to our Sedona trip. The hotel met the needs of all 6 of my family, ages run between 16 & 72. Everything about the Hampton Inn was fantastic. The rooms were super clean and very quiet, our room next to the elevator and we heard nothing. The staff was great, offering us twice water while we enjoyed the pool. Breakfast and lounge area were great for just sitting around reading or talking my son used the gym each day, it was super clean. Overall this stay was awesome, it would be our first stop again & again.

Room Tip: We had 2 rooms one next to the elevator and had no trouble with noise at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kim4267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy D, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Kim,

Hello from Phoenix! Glad to see that you made it home safely and I hope that you and your family enjoyed the Grand Canyon as much as you enjoyed our hotel. I can assure you that your review was celebrated with our team and we were excited to hear that our hotel was such a hit with your whole family.

We thank you again for your time and we know that the next time your family finds itself in Phoenix you will stop by and say hi.

Jeremy Dunkin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This Hotel was very clean, updated and comfortable. The Staff was super nice, the complimentary breakfast was wonderful and we could not have asked for a better place. The only small thing we were surprised at was the fact that renting a movie on TV was not an option.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton
1  Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy D, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Charlotte,

Thank you for your kind words! Our team is dedicated to providing the cleanliest rooms possible and the best service we can; I am glad to hear that we have hit our own high goal in regards to your stay.

Thank you again for your time and safe travels in your next adventure.

Jeremy Dunkin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We only stayed 1 night regretfully but it was very much appreciated to end our 1 month tour with such fantastic service from the staff especially Candace. ( i hope that is the correct name as i have lost the card with the info given to me). The room was a fair size and it was no problem for Candace to organize a mini fridge and foldout bed for us at no extra charge. We decided against the extra bed as it would have been hard to fit in. The hotel is next door to a large shopping complex with heaps of choices for dinning, movies, etc. Candace also looked up on the internet for any questions we had and was very helpful, polite, and friendly. The breakfast was lovely and fresh with all the main options. Free Wifi, easy parking. Will definitely stay here again. It may be on the outskirts of Phoenix but everything you need is not far away.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazyness36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy D, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete this awesome review. I am glad to hear that you found our hotel to be the best in your month long journey. Candace has been a great addition to our team and your kind words about her speaks for its self.

Thank you again for your time and safe travels on your next big adventure!

Jeremy Dunkin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel is very clean, updated and was comfortable, we did not even hear the freeway traffic. The staff was super nice. We would definitely stay here again. The only small downfall was they had no movie rentals, which was strange since most places you can rent a movie thru the TV. Also if you are staying for any length of time there are no refrigerators in the room.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy D, Operations Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2013

Charlotte,

Thank you for the kind words! I am glad to hear that you were impressed enough with our team to give us such a public recommendation; we would gladly welcome you and your family back at any time.

Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.

Jeremy Dunkin
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Deer Valley
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix North - Happy Valley
Hampton Inn Phoenix/Anthem
#11 of 174 in Phoenix
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
South Mountain
GreenTree Inn & Suites Phoenix Sky Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley

Address: 2550 W Charlotte Dr, Phoenix, AZ 85085-1998
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#2 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#6 Green Hotel in Phoenix
#7 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#14 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $123 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley 3*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bask in the sun…delve into Native American historical sites…or enjoy a round of world-class golf. When you visit Happy Valley, all the best of Phoenix is at your command. The Hampton Inn & Suites is located within 25 miles of downtown Phoenix near the Deer Valley municipal airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North/Happy Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Phoenix North / Happy Valley
Hampton Inn & Suites Phoenix North / Happy Valley Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing