We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Budget Lodge - Great Location” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix
Ranked #68 of 173 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Budget Lodge - Great Location”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

I had to be in Phoeninx for a meeting and was looking for a centrally located motel. The Budget Lodge was in a great location at the beginning of Grand Avenue in downtown Phoenix. (This is where the old Route 60 turned northwest toward Wikenburg). One great feature of the location is that it is an easy walk to the new Phoenix Metro line. This was one of the reasons I tried the motel. I wouldn't have to do any driving once I arrived. There was no problem with parking or freeway access.
Check-in was simple, and old-fashioned. (No computers.) My room was on the second floor near the back of the building. I was given the wi-fi access codes. The corridor to the room was clean, all the paint seemed fresh and the floor was tiled. The room lock used a keycard with a chip in it to provide security. On entering the non-smoking room, it seemed clean enough with no strange odors. The blue carpeting looked well cared for and the old-fashioned bedspread was clean. The TV was an older CRT type, but it worked and had the usual selection of cable channels.
The bed was comfortable, but the matress pad had problems: It was sort of stiff and it was not clean. There was a hair stuck to it along with dark colored fuzz. The pillows were ok, somewhat worn but not totally deflated.
The small bathroom was clean, but the towels were worn and the hand towel had yellow stains.
I tried the wi-fi and it did not work. I reported this to the desk, and they acknowledged the problem, but they were not able to get it working that evening. The heater/ air-conditioner worked correctly, but was noisy. Which brings me to the subject of noise. The tiled finish of the corridors causes them to become echo chambers amplifying and noise. When a party came in late with much loud talking and door opening and closing it was impossible to sleep.
Breakfast consisted of a couple pitchers of juice, coffee, fruit, and a couple of pre-packaged sweet rolls.
Overall, this hotel is ok for a one night stopover, but I wouldn't want to spend much time here.

Room Tip: A room upstairs and in the back will have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank azuplink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    254
    176
    35
    14
    16
See reviews for
73
148
68
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Budget Lodge was a clean, comfortable experience. Nice booking on short notice, the host was very accommodating. Continental breakfast was wholesome if basic, served in the lobby area. Parking was easy in the front lot. Take note, there is not to do within a 2-3 block walking radius of the hotel, but by car it's pretty easy to get around Phoenix.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The Budget Lodge is an affordable, clean option for out of town guests. We wanted a place to stay in the down town area that was in walking distance of an event we were attending and this fit the bill. No surprises.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

We showed up later in the night without a reservation and with no prior information about the hotel. We had passed several seedy looking places on our way into the city - but I am so glad we stopped here. Dan working the front desk was very helpful and kind to us. We got a room right away. It was clean, quiet, and perfect for our impromptu adventure. Thank you, Dan!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermosillo, Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I stayed 2 nights and I loved it. Everything in the room was so clean. The host was really nice to us. I highly recommend this hotel. Thank you! We'll definitely stay there in our next trip to Phoenix.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gisselle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

We thought we scored big with the price we paid compared to the other hotels in the area, but when we arrived to the hotel we couldn't help but comment how clean it was, how accomodating the staff was and especially surprised and happy that the room came with a fridge and microwave. We chose this location because it was near the starting line of the marathon and then discovered we were in walking distance to a lot of great things such as the comedy show "stand up live" . Wish we had a few more days to stay and would have extended our stay at Budget. I recommend staying here for price, location, cleanliness and the staff. Wonderful to see that an affordable "budget" place still cares about their service and the upkeep of the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaMonroe2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel is very clean it also has a fridge and micro wave and is close to US Airways . We walked there is 15 miutes for a concert and walked back . The hotel check in was quick and the staff polite they even provided me with a map from the hotel to the concert . Which was great since I did not know the area. I will definately stay there in the future when I go for my next concert and have recommended it to my co-workers.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tucsongirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Central City
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#94 of 173 in Phoenix
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#29 of 173 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix

Property: Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix
Address: 402 W van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003-1635 (Formerly Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#15 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#30 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#52 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Description (provided by the hotel) Welcome to Rodeway inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 40 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Rodeway inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field,Talking Stick Arena, Phoenix Convention Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica T heatre, Orpheum Theatre,St.joseph Hospital,Phoenix childrens hospital and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Budget Hotel Downtown Phoenix
Budget Motel Downtown Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing