We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here! Excellent, well-kept, worth more than its affordable value.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix
Ranked #63 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Stay here! Excellent, well-kept, worth more than its affordable value.”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Economical, GREAT location, well-equipped, very clean, very cool, very quiet, excellent privacy. Locally-owned! The shower was spa-like in its intensity. The owners personally manage the place, and if you are receptive, they look you in the eye and quietly smile to say hello. They really care that you are feeling good and satisfied being there: I found their integrity impressive. I felt good, safe, and at-home here.

The owners are very nice, highly professional, and exacting in the care they give the rooms and common areas. The closet was huge, and there was even a small fridge and a microwave. I made one comment about the WiFi going a bit unstable, and Mr. Patel was very receptive; I bet it's fixed already :)

I find the pomp and circumstance of the big hotels to be silly; I don't need gilded widgets and four times the price to feel safe and happy. This hotel provided exactly what I needed - a good, safe, clean, economical, caring, private place to feel at home while I was away. I'm definitely staying here every time I visit Phoenix.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OceanStarsNightSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    185
    38
    14
    16
See reviews for
73
154
71
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingman, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This property was close to Chase Field. We could walk to the ballgame which was a plus. The rooms were VERY clean! Front desk clerk was very helpful with directions to the ball park. It is a small property which I prefer as it was extremely quite which meant we got a very restful sleep. In the morning there was a continental breakfast. Coffee, juice, and muffins. Just enough to get you going. I will definitely stay here again! I have recently retired from managing a Best Western and I was impressed with the cleanliness. Good job!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reddpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2012

We were very pleased with our accommodations just a 15 minute walk from the Convention Center. The hosts were thoughtful, competent, careful, and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Don P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Illinois, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I was in Phoenix for a full week of conventions and was delighted to find Budget Lodge Downtown. I chose it because it was quite economical while an easy and safe 10-minute walk from the Convention Center. I would definitely stay here next time I'm in Phoenix also!

From the moment I arrived, manager Dan Patel was friendly and helpful. I didn't have a great deal of interaction with the staff because I was out long hours each day, but the interactions I did have were all very pleasant. The room and bathroom are kept clean, comfortable, and in good condition.

Of course, economical lodgings can only afford to offer so much. Here, though the room had a bar for hanging clothes and a shelf above it, there were no drawers. And the free breakfast has quite small selection of sweet rolls, a fruit, juice and coffee, and only a very small corner of space beside the door to the parking lot is allotted to it. But there is a McDonalds 2 blocks away if the breakfast here is not what you want some mornings.

This hotel is an amazing value, clean, friendly, and close to the convention center, ASU, downtown businesses, and city government buildings. And it is only a four block walk from the light rail stop that provides access to or from the airport for $1.75.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2012

I had a great week at the Budget Lodge. I would recommend it to anyone. It is close to everything downtown (an easy walk).

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackPLewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona, USA
2 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I just arrived home from Phoenix - I have always stayed at very expensive hotels, but with the economy I just couldn't afford to spend that kind of money, so I look for something close to Chase Field that was really reasonable. I read the good reviews about Budge Lodge Hotel from other people on Trip Advisor and sure enough, the reviews were correct. The room was spotless. I'm a very clean, particular person, so coming from me, you have to know it was very clean. It was also nice and quiet and I had a great night's sleep.

Mr. Patel was really nice and friendly, and was very helpful. The staff do a great job.

Next time I'm in Phoenix for an event I will definitely stay there again. I don't see the need to spend all that money in a big fancy hotel.

Room Tip: You can zip right on an off I-10 and its within walking distance to all the events downtown Phoenix...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Traveling to Phoenix for a convention that required a six night stay, I found Budget Lodge to be excellent in all the bare essentials: clean, friendly, safe neighborhood and convenient to the Convention Center (leisurely 15 minute walk), comfortable beds, working and relatively quiet AC, good shower and decent television. There was also the unexpected bonus of free wi-fi. The one quibble would be lack of a dresser in which to put away clothes for an extended stay. There was no clock radio but not many of us still rely on them to wake us up, right? Breakfast is minimalist but includes fresh fruit. Not for people who want pools and fitness centers. I would definitely stay again if someone else wasn't paying for my lodging.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BJF261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Hotel San Carlos
Hotel San Carlos
#97 of 174 in Phoenix
334 reviews
Central City
Courtyard by Marriott Phoenix Downtown
Hyatt Regency Phoenix
#27 of 174 in Phoenix
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix

Property: Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix
Address: 402 W van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85003-1635 (Formerly Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Phoenix
#15 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#29 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#51 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Official Description (provided by the hotel) Welcome to Rodeway inn Downtown Phoenix. Everything we do at our newly renovated hotel is driven by our desire to provide exceptional guest service and a clean comfortable environment. We offer a free daily continental breakfast. Appreciate the convenience of our on-site guest laundry facility and our 24-hour front desk and lobby. Relax and unwind in the privacy of your own guest room with amenities including free wireless high-speed Internet access, microwave, mini-fridge, 40 inch LCD flat panel cable TV with HBO and ESPN, hairdryer, table with chairs, desk with lamp, iron, ironing board, free local calls, and wake-up service. Our hotel's centralized location makes it easy to jump into the excitement, fun, and entertainment of Downtown Phoenix while also experiencing its history and culture. Rodeway inn Downtown Phoenix is close to Arizona Diamondbacks Chase Field,Talking Stick Arena, Phoenix Convention Center, CityScape, and Arizona State University. Comerica T heatre, Orpheum Theatre,St.joseph Hospital,Phoenix childrens hospital and Arizona State Fairgrounds are also nearby. Spend some quality family time at the Phoenix Museum of History, Children's Museum of Phoenix, and Arizona Science Center. Play a round of golf at Encanto Golf Course and Phoenix Country Club. Enjoy a walk in the fresh air at the Japanese Friendship Garden, Desert Botanical Garden, Camelback Mountain, and Phoenix South Mountain Park. Seamus McCaffrey Irish Pub, Cibo Restaurant and Subway are all within half a mile of our hotel. At Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix, We've Got You Covered from the time you hit the road until your head hits the pillow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Rodeway Inn Downtown Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Lodge Downtown Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Budget Hotel Downtown Phoenix
Budget Motel Downtown Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing