We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Phoenix”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Phoenix
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Arizona Royal Villa Resort
Ranked #84 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Montreal, Québec
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Phoenix”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

I really enjoyed this resort. The hotel is very clean inside the rooms and around the pool. The rooms are renovated with taste. I really enjoyed the jacuzzi day and night, it was fun to relax there. Also the hotel is not far from many gay venues in Phoenix. I don t have a clue what some reviewers said about rules or anything like that. The owner Doug is a very nice guy, very relax and always ready to help. So forget those comments and do not hesitate to book there!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Dommtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestO'Pinyon, Owner at Arizona Royal Villa Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your comments. We work hard to please all our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    26
    4
    3
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
25
47
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

This is our 2nd stay here, the first being kinda newly opened. I see many improvements more of them surface, instead of real renovations, bath had old tub and just new fixtures stuck on them, shower head small, old and placed very low. Bed did not seem to have premium mattress just average, we stayed in a buddy room, as I was traveling with a friend. This extra room had an old fashioned small TV as maybe in the 70's, also TV in the main room had a small screen by today's standards. The music is on low volume but the thump...thump...thump of the base could still be heard in the rooms and I would prefer it to be turned off earlier in the evenings. Folks I met there seemed quite friendly. Doug really does his best to be helpful, but this somehow comes across as being somewhat backhanded. For instance when explaining the TV remote control he said he would explain how it worked, but we would still "muff it up". Really?..I have quite a bit of computer experience I think I can figure how to work a TV remote control without muffing if up. Other times his helpfulness comes across as more of a control freakiness. (is there such a word ?.. lol) Also one side of this resort has "ghetto" type apts which can be rather unnerving for the faint-hearted. When leaving I said to Doug "well it was really good staying with you and thanks, just trying to give him the chance to use his "hospitality" skills back to us, to with no avail. BTW I consider myself the perfect guest, keep everything neat and almost clean my own room. I wonder.....what's with Phoenix and its "speciality" resorts. I stayed a week at Timmy's (he would have a conniption fit if you called him this) he must be called Tim, at Arizona Sunburst Inn, and he is also appears to be a control-freak IMHO of course. This was a few years ago, before I started to write reviews (he is lucky!) Anywho, maybe it's just me, but I will become straight before I stay at either of these places again in Phoenix. Really.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lookingabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestO'Pinyon, Owner at Arizona Royal Villa Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
In response to this review, we would like to share on some of the items addressed, namely;

1) "Ghetto rooms" We have no "one side of ghetto rooms". All the rooms are the same as each other. The property next door is a lower income, ethnic, long term rental complex with wonderful people who accept us just as we are. This is not part of our complex and our guests should not be on their premises without their permission.

2) Our TV's are NEW HD 32' screens. We have gone all out with the channel selection (over 300) with HBO, SHOW, MAX, and the Sirius/XM music lineup as well. We have even gone to the expense of placing HD receivers in the rooms for 1080i quality picture.

3) Due to the placement of buttons on the DISH remotes, we advise our clients that if they "muff up" the remote to please call us to help get them back on track. We are there for their needs.

4) Our beds are "better" quality 12" and not "best" quality. This helps keep our rates starting at under $90 per night., with no resort fees and free WIFI.

5. Renovations. We have gone far beyond the cosmetic renovations our clients duly pointed out in the review. We have installed granite countertops, new cabinetry, new furniture, upgraded bathrooms with new toilets, ceramic flooring and lots more as well.

We are entering our 22nd year now at the Villa and over 60% of our clientele is repeat business. We thank the reviewer for their comments, and as always, stay safe and happy in your travels!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, Nm
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2014

Royal Villas is AWESOME! I stayed a week (in room #13) and had a great time. Doug – the owner – is really sweet and works very hard to insure that everyone has a good experience in a clean, safe environment. Three nights of my 7-night stay the hotel was completely full but it didn’t feel that way; there were always plenty of loungers on the deck and plenty of room in the pool and hot tub. The other guys I met were friendly and hospitable; the only time I got any “attitude” was from some day pass guys, but who cares? My room was spacious (I had the 1-bedroom suite), clean, functional, well-stocked and quite pleasant. Wi-fi worked well indoors and out. Best of all? The ability to hang out and enjoy the sundeck, pool and hot tub “au naturel”. Complaints? Minor. Water pressure in my shower was a bit weak and it would be nice if the hot tub jets remained on until midnight. But so what? Everything else was great. I’m already looking forward to my next visit, which will be soon.

Room Tip: North side suites will have cooler, darker bedrooms. All rooms open to pool, deck and hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abqtravelermta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HonestO'Pinyon, Owner at Arizona Royal Villa Resort, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Thank you for your stay! See you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

Really enjoyed this place. My main goal is to enjoy some warm weather in nude by the pool, and I accomplished just that. The place is clean, location is very good, close to many restaurants and bars, and not too far from the PHX airport. I've read some negative comments about this place, and I've been here couple times now and did not experience anything bad, especially with the manager/owner. He's always pleasant and friendly. Definitely will come back again.

Room Tip: Got upgraded to the beach house, and it has a nice personal access to the pool area. Really liked i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KirkyTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Not gonna lie, as I pulled up in front of the place it looked like a fortress of concrete block and I was a little apprehensive. One step inside the "fortress" alleviated all my fears. The courtyard was extremely inviting and I was immediately at ease. Doug welcomed me and, as I was checking in, he gave me a rundown of the rules. It quickly became apparent to me that the rules were in place for my safety and the enjoyment of my stay. I could not be more impressed with the cleanliness and overall look of the property. Most amazing is the fact that the owners seem to maintain the property single-handedly. I can very much appreciate the work that must go into maintaining the facilities and the pride of ownership certainly shows. Great job Doug and Kenny!

I can't wait for another chance to come and stay with these guys again. I can only guess that those who have had a bad experience here will sadly never find a place to their satisfaction.

Room Tip: You are really spoiled for choice with this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

I've been going to this small 15 rooms and suites gay resort for several years. I always go in the summer. Hotter the better. Never fully occupied and seems to be more 40+ crowd. There is no restaurant or bar on property nor a work out facility. If you are looking for that, this is not the place. Owners Kenny and Doug are excellent two man team. Never loud or noisy and they are very particular who is allowed to either come on a day pass or stay over night. All accommodations are poolside. Well worth a try.

Room Tip: Reserve the one bedroom suite. Fully functioning kitchen which is perfect to cook you own breakfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

This wasn't my first visit to Royal Villa. Kenny and Doug are gracious hosts! The property is clean and well maintained. Rooms are comfortable and clean.

If there is any problem, these guys will make it right!!!! Thank you guys!!!

Will I be back? For sure!!!

Room Tip: Can't quite put my finger on it, but I rather stay in the rooms on the side across from the offi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlton Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Camelback East
Homewood Suites by Hilton Phoenix - Biltmore
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Encanto
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Midtown
Camelback East
Royal Palms Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arizona Royal Villa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arizona Royal Villa Resort

Property: Arizona Royal Villa Resort
Address: 4312 N 12th St, Phoenix, AZ 85014-4504
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Encanto
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Top resorts Hotel in Phoenix
#12 Spa Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centraly located the owners of this mini hotel offers the traveller a quiet, clean and secure place to stay in the heart of Phoenix. Nestled behind 10 foot walls, guarantees a discrete and relaxing vacation. If hard partying and 24 hour action activity are what you are looking for, this is NOT the place for you. Our guest's comfort and security come first and we are here to offer just that! 80% of our clientelle are repeat guests and are our extended family. We invite you to try us out! Thank you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Arizona Royal Villa Hotel Phoenix
Arizona Royal Hotel
Arizona Royal Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing