We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average HGI.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Ranked #23 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This HGI proved to be nothing special. The bathroom was on the smaller side with a smaller flat screen. Wireless was very slow. I ende up using my iPhone hotspot to get better speed.
Location was convenient and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank timshuwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnPHXNo, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

Thank you for your kind mention of our helpful staff and convenient location, just minutes from the Phoenix Sky Harbor International Airport and attractions like the Phoenix Zoo. We’re pleased you enjoyed the service our staff provided, however, we regret if your stay missed the mark in anyway. Our team will further investigate your comments to ensure our Internet connection is functioning optimally for our guests. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a future stay soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (998)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

776 - 782 of 998 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

This is a large, new, well decorated building with lovely large rooms. New, clean, and well maintained. It's an airport hotel, meaning a lot of their business is quick in-at-night, out-in-the morning stays. There was a bus tour staying there when we stayed.
When I checked the rate, I found it was competitive with other properties in the area. However the hotel had a few minor annoyances that brought the value for money down a bit:
- there was only one person on the front desk on a Saturday evening. He seemed to be virtually the only person on duty and had to do everything. He was cheerful and helpful, but was simply too overworked to represent good service. Even a simple request meant waiting in line, he seemed to have to run around to get things....the front desk itself was not set up and stocked efficiently for a one-person operation.
- The doors to the rooms have oversized closer mechanism, which get away from most people. As a result the doors slam pretty much whenever they are closed. The rooms are fairly well soundproofed otherwise, but the constant door slams echoed down the halls at night, and cost us sleep.
- The breakfast buffet is significantly better than most, but is not complementary. Main items are self serve but there are servers to bring coffee, juice, etc. So you pay and tip too. Other hotels in the area offer a free buffet breakfast that isn't too bad, for the same room rate. Personally I find the simpler buffet, comps, is better value than the fancier breakfast at additional cost.
- the location is a bit far from restaurants etc in the area, plenty is available by car but not within walking distance
- be forewarned that the rooms may only have a shower and not a bathtub. This is becoming common, but some like their soak in the tub, and you may not get that here.
In summary, there is nothing wrong with this hotel, but I would probably check rates at other hotels in the area first and suspect I would end up somewhere else unless everything is full up.

Room Tip: If you expect a bathtub, ask first.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank crs1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonGardenInnPHXNo, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2013

We’re glad you found your guest accommodations spacious, however, we couldn’t be more disappointed that your stay did not exceed your expectations. Please accept our apologies for any delays at check-in or if any noises outside of your room caused a disruption. We strive to deliver convenient, comfortable accommodations to our guests and will investigate your comments to ensure we do all that we can to meet this goal. We invite you to check our website before booking your next visit for a list of special offers, many of which include complimentary breakfast in addition to a great discounted rate. Thank you for taking the time to provide a detailed review of your recent experience, we hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

We checked in after 9.30 local time (after almost 24 hours of travelling) and were pleased with the hotel. The staff were polite and professional (although not over friendly but maybe as northern English folk, we expect a bit more smilyness!). The room itself was very clean, lovely big bed which was firmer but still comfy with excellent pillows. Lovely big shower and free wifi. This place is in a great convenient location and as they put a shuttle on to and from the airport, was perfect for us. Only downside really was the aircon is quite noisy, but then it can't be helped I suppose and it was welcome as the temp was about 20 odd degrees even in the late evening in March. We would stay again and may book in for our last night of our trip before leaving from the airport. Oh and the breakfast provided was fab for a hotel with loads of choice including freshly made to order stuff like omlettes and french toast (not to mention a buffet style cooked bit and a DIY waffle maker! )

Room Tip: The rooms higher up have a nice view over the surrounding mountains
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Selina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This proved to be a great choice for my family. The rate made getting two rooms affordable. Which is a real plus when getting ready to catch an early morning flight. Also, the hotel shuttle service was 5 star and made getting to the airport so easy. Would defiantly use this hotel again when flying out of Phoenix.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kay t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

The hotel was in a convenient location and the room was decent. WiFi was horrible! This hotel is supposed to appeal to business travelers. It shouldn't take several minutes to load simple web pages. In the 5 days spent at this hotel, not once did the internet cooperate, even after complaints. Can't really get much work done. Also, there are 4 elevators in the lobby (3 for general use and 1 for service staff), but at any given time, maybe 1 was working. Broken toilet seat was fixed with tape? Come on! Replace it. For what I paid, I was expecting better. At check-out, it was promised that the manager would call after a "meeting"... well, it must be one heck of a long meeting as it is now 5 days later and still no call. I am not impressed and would not stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JG274
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

All in all, not bad. Rooms seemed a little small, but they were full and couldn't upgrade me. Bed was comfortable, TV worked fine, shower was HGI, so that's a big plus. Location is OK, near Sky Harbor.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rzrnaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed here for a conference. The hotel, was nice, quiet and clean. The staff was very helpful and really tried hard to please. I would of thought the hotel would be noisy with its closeness to Sky Harbor. But, it was not bad. The beds and linens were nice. One suggestion is that the hotel would add a extra blanket in the room.. Besides that this is a nice place to stay.

Room Tip: Close to the airport
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#17 of 174 in Phoenix
1,415 reviews
Camelback East
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Mountain
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North

Address: 3838 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Phoenix
#33 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#42 Family Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $100 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel - free shuttle, free internet,free business and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing