We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good quality for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Ranked #23 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 7, 2013

I have traveled extensively to Phoenix over the years, staying in many hotels along the way, and I lived there for years beforehand. For the money, this is the place stay. For hotels in the $80 price range, it's hard to beat this place. It's clean throughout, has in-room dining and a small pantry to supplement, serves breakfast, and the staff is very nice. Seems like below average noise level between rooms (a good thing). The room has a microwave and a fridge with a sink and a small couch area. Some improvement opportunities include the staff attentiveness at breakfast (cleaning tables, not replacing silverware for the next guest), and the lack of a paper in the morning (even though the room key jacket says you will get one, you don't). Overall, however, it's a great value when you consider the price. The one dig that can't be fixed is the location; it's a bit out of the way for me (I work in Tempe when I'm there) but to me it's worth the drive. It's not a $120+/night hotel, but it's a great place to stay in the $80/night range.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,050)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

840 - 846 of 1,050 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2013

I spent 5 nights at this property because it was close to my employer. I was very pleased with the whole property. The room was well appointed, clean, spacious and modern. Washer and dryers are available at a nominal fee. The grounds, were very nice and they had fires in fire pits around the property. The staff was friendly and professional. There was a hot breakfast each morning and the service was excellent. I will stay at this property again when traveling to the North Phoenix area.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlabrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Enjoyed staying at this hotel. Very nice staff and clean. Not so sure I like the area of town we were in but still got a good nights sleep. Breakfast was good. Make sure you adjust the "Sleep Number" bed or it is like sleeping on a table...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This hotel was pleasant but had the following difficulties: 1) on 2 different nights the credit card machine didn't work at the bar, 2) ran out of tea bags, 3) shared computers in the business center wouldn't allow me to get to my airlines' website to print a boarding pass (very, very slow), 4)beds were supposed to have a lever on the side to adjust the comfort but the 2 beds in my room didn't have them and 5) used dinner dishes were stacked closely next to clean plates in a serving area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor; view is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dudee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I am sorry, but his is a long review.

My experience with this hotel started to go downhill when I got to my room. Despite booking a one-bedroom suite on-line, when I got up to the room I found it was a regular room. When I called the front desk, I was told this was the only type of room the hotel had. Since there are few things that get me worked up more than being mislead (either on-line or in person), I went down to the front desk and asked to speak to the manager. Lo and behold, they do have one-bedroom suites after all. The manager on duty, whose demeanor was somewhere between disdain and complete disinterest, only said to me "you aren't supposed to be able to book these rooms on line", as he was looking at the reservation on my smart phone. In any case, I got the suite and went back up to my new room. Unfortunately, the air conditioner in the living room was not working. I called at 5:30pm and was told maintenance would be "right up". I called again at 6pm and was told "he will be there in 5 minutes". Finally, at 6:30pm he showed up. While the gentleman was very nice, he could not do anything. Apparently the entire a/c unit had to be switched out (and they knew this,, the replacement unit was in his shop). Why I had to wait in my room for an hour to find this out is beyond me. Nevertheless, I was told they would get it fixed tomorrow while I was at work. Flash-forward to the next evening at 5pm. I had been gone 10 hours, go up to the room, and the a/c still does not work. No explaination why it was not fixed and no one really seemed to care. At this point I said "forget it". They had all day to fix the situation, but did not do anything about it. There were other maintenance issues in the room as well (the "adjustable" bed on one side was stuck at "hard as a rock" and the tv in the bedroom only got a few channels", but I figure if they don't care, why should I, so I did not report them).

At checkout the next day the young woman at the front desk seemed sincerly concerned that my stay was sub-standard and promised a manager would call me to discuss the situation. This was 4 days ago; still no call. I am not hold my breath.

Let me say the restaurant was pretty good and they have a decent workout room. Otherwise, I cannot think of a reason you would want to stay here.

I would strongly recommend staying someplace else.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank WannaTravelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

After traveling up to Sedona and the Grand Canyon, we chose this hotel for its close proximity to the airport. We were quite pleased with the location and spent a comfortable evening unwinding before our early morning flight. The front desk attendant was very friendly and provided us free breakfast vouchers which sadly we didn't have time to use. If we travel through Sky Harbor Int'l again, we will certainly revisit this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

This is a newer property very close to the airport and car rental center. It is in a sketchy area, but good food is not too far (about 5 miles to Camelback Road). The only negative for me was the excessively loud built into window a/c/heat unit which came on and off like a bomb blast during the night. Most hilton garden inns, indigos, courtyards use this system, but it was the loudest.

Also since anyone staying here has an early flight from the airport, coffee/tea should be available starting at least at 5AM.

Room Tip: high floor away from elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yellow1NewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#15 of 174 in Phoenix
1,474 reviews
South Mountain
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North

Address: 3838 E van Buren St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Central City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#32 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#33 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#33 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $92 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New hotel - free shuttle, free internet,free business and fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North Hotel Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing