We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passion shows......”
Review of NOCA - CLOSED

NOCA
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Camelback East
Cross street: 32nd Street and East Camelback Road
Scottsdale
Level Contributor
981 reviews
327 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“Passion shows......”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Without a doubt the very best not just restaurant but entire dining experience in Phoenix/Scottsdale. From the moment you enter and are warmly welcomed by Elliot Wexler, without a doubt the best maitre d' I have ever seen, to the ambiance, the highly imaginative and ever-changing delicious menu, reasonable prices to the "sweet" surprise ending, Noca is outstanding.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PeterAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    21
    9
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, AZ USA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No to NOCA”
Reviewed July 10, 2011

While the ambiance and service were good, the food was a big disappointment. My dining partner and I both ordered the steak dish. Nice presentation, but the meat was not cooked to our specifications. We could have overlooked that had everything else been right with the dish. However, the steak was very tough. When I pay $36 for an entree, I absolutely, positively expect it to be excellent. Interestingly, minutes after we sent both of our entrees back and ordered another dish, a diner at the next table sent back his veal entree, which he said was like rubber.

When our second round of entrees (we ordered the skate entree) arrived, it was better than the steak, but the seasoning was very salty. The accompanying fried zucchini pancake (our whatever it was) was overcooked, and dry. Frankly, I would have preferred the hash browns from Denny's to whatever this was.

This was our second visit to NOCA, and as on the first visit, the seafood entrees tasted very salty. We were both very disappointed with the quality of the food. It is definitely not worth the premium prices they are charging. We will not be returning.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lchitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Duck!”
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Yay for duck confit! Yay for a good wine list! Yay for noca!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jensizzzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
159 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“AN OUTSTANDING & MEMORABLE DINING EXPERIENCE”
Reviewed June 3, 2011

The menu changes daily and the selections are varied and ever so interesting. The service was incredible. Water glasses were filled constantly and always someone there to fill the wine glasses. It is a little pricey, but well worth the cost. The scallops were oh so good! After your meal, you are presented with a huge pink surprise (see photo). The
dessert list was very appealing. We went for the sorbet (3 different choices) and it was incredible. Open kitchen. An outstanding restaurant in a strip mall at 32nd and Camelback.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gabaldonshari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Dinner during Spring Restaurant Week”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

I went with my daughter for a three course meal during restaurant week. Everything was delicious. They started with a potato salad amuse. My appetizer was crispy pork belly. Main entree was salmon. Dessert was passion fruit and coconut. My favorite is dessert which tasted fruity, tropical, creamy, sweet, rich and tart. Yum!!! Overall food was healthy, seasoned and cooked perfectly. The servings were the right size. The value good. The pace leisurely. We plan to return.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zenff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NOCA also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing