We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #39 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
Reviewed September 5, 2007

This was our second stay at this property and we again were not disappointed. We found the staff to be nice and generally helpful. The breakfast buffet is very good with lots of fresh fruit and hot food. The only complaint is that the pool area needs washed down and I had to call for more towels on two occasions. Otherwise, I think this property is a good find for almost anyone staying in the airport area.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank imontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,441)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,374 - 1,380 of 1,442 reviews

Reviewed August 14, 2007

What a welcome respite from the searing Phoenix heat and the terrible Millenium McCormick Ranch.

Friendly and easy check in, a large suite with a very comfy king bed, warm cookies, helpful staff, and close to the airport without the airport noise.

We were bumped from our flight and ended up staying an unplanned extra night, and we were given the same $99/night rate which was a nice touch.

We'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thea Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2007

This hotel is wonderful, and the staff was great. My family and I stayed for four days and wanted to stay longer. The pool was clean, plenty of towels. the rooms were left clean day in and day out. The beds were fantastic, and the property was located near good restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OnYurMarcos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2007

Our family of four stayed at the Doubletree Gateway Center en route from Phoenix airport to upstate Arizona.

Arriving early evening, the welcome that we received was excellent with free lemonade and warm cookies. We were given very clear directions to our suite which was ideal for what we needed.

The layout of the suites is fine although the living room is a bit smaller than many. The bedroom was very well decorated and of a high standard for accomodation in this price range.

Breakfast is included in the price, which with a party of four makes the whole package very good value.

We thought this was an ideal introduction to our holiday and would recommend this hotel to anyone on a budget just looking to get their head down before moving on.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank honved
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2007

The following is a very detailed review of the Doubletree Guest Suites Gateway-Phoenix Center for those that like to know as much as they can about a hotel they are considering.

I travel frequently as a business traveler and with my family. My review will be through the eyes of both. However, the gist of my review is this: the Doubletree definitely caters to solo travelers or couples . . . once a third or fourth guest is introduced, I do believe what the hotel has to offer may be more or less desirable depending on the needs of the family/group.

At the time of my writing, this hotel is listed as #9 most popular in Phoenix out of 153 hotels. I do believe that favorable reviews are mostly from business writers or those not needing a room with two beds (I will expound on this subject later).

The Doubletree is one of the closest hotels to the Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. A business traveler would definitely need a vehicle if needing to travel to nearby stores, restaurants or other parts of town. However, the Asian Cultural Center is within 5 minutes walking distance which includes Quizno’s, a Ranch Market, an inexpensive Asian Seafood Buffet, and Golden Buddha Restaurant. The hotel is conveniently located off of the 202 Loop which can reach I-10 and other freeways easily. Doubletree Suites is located in a beautiful business park with ample, mature landscaping. Parking surrounds the property on both sides and the back, and the wrought iron security gates must be opened with a room key. There is onsite security that patrols inside and outside the hotel. In addition, there is business park security that patrols neighboring businesses such as UnitedHealth Group and its parking garage.

If traveling south on North 44th Street (opposite direction of airport), the following places can be found within five minutes drive time: Target, Costco, Applebee’s, IHOP, Ross, Fry’s Groceries, Del Taco, Sears, The UPS Store, McDonald’s. At 44th and Indian School Road, there is an Einstein Bagels, Pei Wei, Rubio’s Mexican Food, Subway, and a Starbuck’s. There was a previous posted review on Trip Advisor that the hotel is in a “bad” neighborhood. If traveling east on Van Buren, after 15 minutes, a traveler will end up in downtown Tempe where there are charming shops and many places to eat. However, if traveling west on Van Buren, a motorist will find an economically challenged area.

My family and I were assigned Room #556. I was traveling with my husband and father-in-law. We were in town attending a family oriented convention. When booking through the hotel’s reservations, I was informed that the hotel only has 20 rooms with two beds in it – the majority of the rooms had one King Bed and a sofa sleeper (out of 242 rooms). The hotel was sold out the entire time I was there. There was a light stale smell upon entering the room.

I slept on the King Bed and found it to be very comfortable. The sheets are of high quality thread count, and there are ample pillows on the pillow and in the armoire. I also slept on the sofa bed – it was uncomfortable and a typical night on a sofa bed – my hip bone was on the middle bar of the sofa bed the entire night, and the mattress was thin. Hotel staff called it a Queen Sofa Sleeper, but it is a double bed sleeper. Though children would probably be comfortable on the sofa sleeper, I do not recommend it for adults. Front desk staff and in-house reservations advised us that a room with two beds is on a first come, first serve basis, and is not guaranteed. Being on a comfortable bed is very important and I felt that a lack of comfortable sleeping areas for everyone in my party was a disappointment. However, for those who are looking for value based lodging, they may be willing to exchange comfort for other amenities.

Wireless High Speed Internet Access is available in the room through LodgeNet for $9.99 (24 hour standard access), $11.99 (24 hour Real IP Access), and $39.99 for 5 day Standard Internet. Users with Pre-Paid Access Code through LodgeNet may access the Internet with their prepaid code. However, Hilton HHonors Gold or Diamond members get free Internet access. The code for the Internet changes daily and wireless Internet is charged from 12 p.m. to 12 p.m. the next day.

There is a 24 Hour Business Center located near the Concierge’s Desk. Hotel guests may access this area with a room key. Guests may use the computers short term to print airline boarding passes or send faxes. There three computers – two at a desk and one for guests that stand to use the computer. There is one fax machine and two printers.

The hotel rooms face outdoor walkways. There are three sections which rooms are located: 1) courtyard, 2) Pool and Spa Area, and Pavilion Areas with six stories. I noted that in the afternoon, the western sun hits the areas labeled as 08-21 and 48-58. However, the air conditioning in room works well. The Courtyard area appears to be the quietest and easiest to access. The Pool and Spa area can be “loud” when there are people swimming when passing by, though you can faintly hear the loud talking/kids screaming if your television is low. The Pavilion area is an outside permanent tent with mini white tree lights underneath along with ceiling fans. Strangely, at night, there were many maid cleaning carts “parked” near this area. If you are bringing your own bags to the room, it can be a pain in the neck as it can be a distance in walking and trying to use your room keep to keep opening the security gates. However, one can obtain a luggage cart from the Concierge’s Desk.

The Fitness Center was temporarily relocated from Room #125 to Room #123 because Room #125 was in the process of being upgraded (at time of writing, June, 2007). The temporary fitness center had a treadmill, an elliptical machine, an ab station, free weights, and other equipment enough to do a nice work out.

Staff is very accommodating, efficient, and helpful. During the time of our visit, the hotel was sold out. I had inquired about a rollaway bed. The “Care Line” is the central place that routes your calls to the appropriate area. My call was forwarded to the Front Desk, and staff there advised me that normally they do have rollaway beds for rent but did not have any due to the high demand. We requested extra towels and an extra blanket and staff arrived both times within minutes.

The room itself is spacious with very beautiful, quality pecan wood furniture. The walls between rooms are solid, and we could not hear conversations or other televisions from guests on either side of use. The room has a nice sized refrigerator, coffee maker, modern microwave, two televisions, two telephones, two desk areas, an iron, and a hair dryer. The bedroom has its own door. The “living room” area has the bathroom in its area. This allows for privacy for anyone sleeping in the bedroom in the event there is someone sleeping on the sofa bed in the living room and has to go to the bathroom. Also, even if the television is loud in the living room area, it can barely be heard in the bedroom area, and vice versa.

With regard to the bathroom itself, there is no exhaust fan. Even though the walls between hotel rooms appeared to be solid, you could clearly hear others using the bathroom in your own room. The lack of bathroom privacy is the second minus other than the uncomfortable sofa sleeper for guests requiring a second bed. Water pressure is low in the shower and when using the toilet. The toilet also appears to be lower than average. You can also hear water sounds (flushing, toilet use) from other rooms either above or below. I believe that a second towel rack could be useful behind the door and I stated my suggestion on a comment card. There are quality Neutrogena products available. The bottom of the bathtub (permanent non-slip portion) looked unsightly. We were provided a non-slip bath mat. However, the bottom looked either unscrubbed or looked over scrubbed.

The television in the bedroom area was snowy with very low volume. We called Building Maintenance who arrived promptly and was exceedingly helpful. Our bathroom sink was draining very slowly, but we did not lodge a request for repair. The room curtains had one set of sheers and one set of black out curtains. The room can be made very dark for sleeping when the light needs to be blocked. Even though the hotel is close to the airport, there was no airplane noise during the day. Interestingly, only after 11 p.m., I could hear airplanes taking off. No one else in my party heard the airplanes after 11 p.m.

The full breakfast buffet is complimentary and is a wonderful morning treat served at the onsite restaurant, Belvedere. When you arrive, the hostess will ask you your room number and provide you with a piece of paper that enables guests to place the gratuity on their hotel tab. The buffet includes a fresh fruit mix, cottage cheese, yogurt, prunes, varying baked goods, oatmeal, scrambled eggs, bacon, fried potatoes, link sausage, cold cereal and milk, coffee, orange juice, and apple juice. Though there have been a few negative postings regarding the buffet, I think that it is wonderful for being complimentary and not made to order. There is a wide enough variety for everyone.

In closing, solo business travelers will enjoy their stay. Families securing a room at a discounted rate will enjoy the amenities for the price/value. However, families that require a guaranteed second bed and enjoy bathroom privacy may wish to book elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
9  Thank VegasBling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2007

  • Stayed: June 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sillyonesmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2007

Stayed: June 2007
1  Thank 4Penguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#14 of 174 in Phoenix
1,455 reviews
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Paradise Valley
Embassy Suites by Hilton Phoenix-Scottsdale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix

Address: 320 N 44th St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#55 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#59 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range: $87 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort-style atmosphere less than two miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and five miles from downtown Phoenix at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix. Getting around is hassle-free at our Phoenix Airport hotel with complimentary airport shuttle service (call hotel directly for pick-up services) and the Metro Light Rail System just one block away. Start every day in style when you choose from our complimentary breakfast buffet at Belvedere's American Grill. Open throughout the day, this restaurant serves a range of modern American favorites in a casual setting. After a busy day, make the most of the warm Arizona sunshine with a swim in the outdoor pool or unwind with a workout in the fully-equipped fitness center. A warm welcome and a warm DoubleTree cookie are waiting for you at this all-suite Phoenix Airport hotel. A private bedroom and a separate seating area with sofa bed give you more flexibility for work or added space for the whole family. Upgrade to a Business Class suite for extra perks including free WiFi, daily drink coupons to Belvedere's, a lap desk, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Doubletree Hotel Phoenix
Doubletree Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing