We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #37 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
New Mexico
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Good Value”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Two of us stayed here Sunday night (Labor Day Eve). This is an older hotel but has been well maintained. It is a good value at $76 plus tax per night, and it is located near the airport. It is not far from Scottsdale's Old Town and Civic Plaza area. Our room was spacious and well equipped. Even though we were located on the second floor right above the pool (and there were a lot of families in the pool with children), our room was fairly quiet. We enjoyed the warm water pool. We thought that the complementary breakfast started at 6 AM, but when we arrived at 6:45, there was a long line of folks from a tour group. We were then informed that breakfast started at 7 AM on holidays, this being Labor Day, so we waited longer than we had hoped for breaky. The breakfast was quite good with many options. Pete, the shuttle driver, helped us with directions to locations we wanted to drive to. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChazNewMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    569
    434
    193
    97
    60
See reviews for
360
344
112
420
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coburg Oregon
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Very clean and entire staff was so helpful. Too bad it was SO HOT there ! Pool looked very nice but it was too hot out. They provide a transport to and from the airport and the driver helped us find a cab to and from the concert that night. The cab driver met us outside after the concert. Rooms were very nice and it was cool inside when we got there in 106 degrees outside. They allowed us to stay an extra hour before our flight when we left which was very helpful. Everyone was really nice and the Neil Diamond concert was great!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheriolson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you so much for the great review of your recent stay with us. There are times we wish we could lower the temperature outside also. I'm glad you enjoyed the concert - Phoenix has some state of the art entertainment venues that are easily accessible by the light rail. We have a nearby station located just one block away. Hopefully you'll be able to take advantage of that when you stay with us during your trip to sunny Phoenix (and hopefully cooler Phoenix!).

Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

The hotel is in serious need of updating. Picked the Doubletree based on past experience of clean rooms and comfortable beds. The front desk attendant was very friendly, but hotel has external corridors, shows its age, and the tv in the bedroom was small. Bed was not bad, but not as comfortable as I expected. There were several hairs in the shower, major gross-out for me. The highlight was breakfast, a great buffet spread is included with your stay. I found it a little bold to ask for tips on the table, but the attendants did work hard and the breakfast was delicious! Location is great, less than 10 minutes from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SDR1076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
We appreciate the detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We use comments like yours to motivate and train our dedicated staff to ensure the utmost attention to detail. I'm glad you were able to take advantage of our complimentary full buffet breakfast and close proximity to Phoenix Sky Harbor Airport. We hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in the area.

Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

I stayed the Doubletree for one night. I must stay that I have stayed in fancier, more expensive places, but the Doubletree staff outshined most of them. I found the staff genuinely friendly and helpful. The temperature in Phoenix was over a 100 when I arrived and so I turned the a/c up. After a couple of hours, the temperature did not change. I called the desk and they immediately sent Miguel from the Maintenance Dept. to check the a/c in the room. He was very professional and helpful. After trying to fix the a/c, he called the desk and had my room changed. He assisted me in moving all my belongings and then brought me a courtesy bag from the Hotel filled with snacks.
My room was comfortable and clean and would certainly stay there again when I'm in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brooklyn29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I apologize that the air conditioning in your suite was not working properly. Our engineering staff works around the clock to keep all units running at full capacity during our hottest summer months. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to Miguel and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

I sayed here for a business meeting in August. I was surprised that Phoenix was not as hot during my stay as I expected. The hotel was nice. The rooms were very nice with plenty of space. I didn't expect doors that faced outside, but the courtyard was nice. I especially enjoyed the cactus garden that have the names of the various plants they have on site. The meeting rooms were great and the temperature inside was perfect. Breakfast was plentiful and tasted great. There was a good Chinese market nearby as well as a couple of good places to eat. I'd definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luggnutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
We appreciate the positive, detailed feedback regarding your recent stay with us. We are happy that you were able to experience the many amenities offered at our hotel and surrounding area, including the Chinese Cultural Center which offers shopping and dining options for those that prefer an Asian flair. We have also been enjoying the cooler weather this summer. Thank you for your review and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We stayed at this Hotel in late July and early August when we were catching a connecting flight from Canada to Mexico. The hotel had excellent prompt shuttle service from the airport. The room was spacious with 2 flat screen tvs and nice comfy beds. Early check in was no problem and this was a relief as we were travelling with small children. The restaurant had great food and the free buffet breakfast was fantastic. The staff were all very friendly and service oriented and the cookies were great. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acjaime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you for the great feedback regarding your family's recent stay with us. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy many of the benefits that the hotel has to offer, including our complimentary full American buffet breakfast. We hope that your travels bring you and your family back to Phoenix again soon. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Too bad. It is a lovely building with great pool area, but tyhe air conditioning isn't up to the heat in Phoenix. It would be too hot for Juneau! The management's response was "Well, it's been hot here." In Phoenix? Really? I had to move out to the couch to sleep- it was cooler there. The next night we switched hotels-went to one that was 5 times the age of the Doubletree. Guess what? It was cool. The management's response was the worst part.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelmomCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I apologize that we were unable to lower the room temperature to your desired level. Our engineering staff works around the clock to keep our air conditioning units running at full capacity. Thank you again for alerting us to this situation. We are committed to providing a safe and comfortable environment and will continue to diligently do so in the future. We hope you will give us another chance next time your travels bring you to Phoenix.

Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#15 of 174 in Phoenix
1,364 reviews
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Camelback East
Aloft Phoenix-Airport
Aloft Phoenix-Airport
#47 of 174 in Phoenix
619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Address: 320 N 44th St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#55 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#59 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort-style atmosphere less than two miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and five miles from downtown Phoenix at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix. Getting around is hassle-free at our Phoenix Airport hotel with complimentary airport shuttle service (call hotel directly for pick-up services) and the Metro Light Rail System just one block away. Start every day in style when you choose from our complimentary breakfast buffet at Belvedere's American Grill. Open throughout the day, this restaurant serves a range of modern American favorites in a casual setting. After a busy day, make the most of the warm Arizona sunshine with a swim in the outdoor pool or unwind with a workout in the fully-equipped fitness center. A warm welcome and a warm DoubleTree cookie are waiting for you at this all-suite Phoenix Airport hotel. A private bedroom and a separate seating area with sofa bed give you more flexibility for work or added space for the whole family. Upgrade to a Business Class suite for extra perks including free WiFi, daily drink coupons to Belvedere's, a lap desk, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Doubletree Hotel Phoenix
Doubletree Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing