We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Party central, but we had a quiet suite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Ranked #38 of 174 Hotels in Phoenix
retiredJB
Level Contributor
352 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Party central, but we had a quiet suite”
Reviewed November 9, 2011

This would be an excellent conference hotel. Lots of outdoor spaces. Very nice public indoor spaces. Staff friendly. Some of the group we were traveling with said that they were kept awake by parties in other suites, but we were in room 148, which was quiet and away from the pool.
The courtyard is beautifully landscaped with local plants and everything is labeled.
They had a free shuttle from the airport, but you may have to wait awhile.
Suite was spacious and comfortable. I would stay there again. We ordered room service, which was excellent, and watched the World Series. Relaxing.

Room Tip: Choose a room downstairs and away from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,329 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    423
    188
    96
    60
See reviews for
350
337
108
418
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Rooms are great. Hotel quality is good. Sleep quality is very good. And if you are going to be working in the vicinity. Walkable to everything. Just that you will have to dine at the chinese center close by & breakfast at a local deli. But both are pretty good too.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikazi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for your review! I wanted to quickly mention that we are one short block to the Light Rail system here in Phoenix that can take you downtown or to Mill Avenue in Tempe where there are many more dining options. Next time you stay with us, please stop by our front desk and we would be happy to provide more information!

Sincerely,
Steve Metcalf
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
makawao
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Being in a Doubletree suite felt homey with 2 television sets, a dining/office table, refrigerator and microwave. Upon checking in, we were given 2 warm Doubletree chocolate cookies. Yummy! Great snacking. We ordered a couple more with pizza one night, and bought more to take home with us. Staff was so nice and helpful. Being in a warm locale, the room we stayed in was accessed by an open walkway, not a corridor/hallway, which surrounded the pool below. Hotel makes it easy for guests to print air boarding passes through use of its computer with printer. Shuttle service was friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berryblue2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
78 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2011

This was about my 10th stay at this hotel and I have a sense that it's on the cusp of going downhill. The rooms -- all large suites -- remain well appointed. There are two flat screen tvs, a fridge, microwave, bath with a shower/tub. The bed is very comfortable. Where things are moving in the wrong direction: bathroom amenities were not always replaced when finished breakfast food quality seems to have gone downhill along with some options. My views may also have been affected by the fact that fire alarms went off fourbtimes between 4and 6 in the morning due to a problem with the swimming pool and very bad weather.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prhnjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Please accept my apologies for the fire alarms going off so early in the morning. You are correct - there was a pull station that was affected by the bad weather causing the alarms to sound. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next stay with us.

Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deer park, ny
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2011

Everything about this hotel is 1st class. Room was clean, big and the bed very comfortable. Staff at desk were always freindly and helpful. Minor glitch, telephoned for pool service; never came.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auburnDeerPark_Ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, Director of Food and Beverage at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, December 6, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Please accept my apologies for the problem you experienced when ordering room service. Hopefully you will stay with us again the next time you are in the Phoenix area.

Sincerely,
Jeff Orsini
Director of Food and Beverage
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Anyone who has stayed at an Embassy Suites will immediately recognize the room configuration. It's the classig configuration with a window at the front facing the walkway where you enter into the living room. The bedroom is then at the back with a window facing the parking lot.

It is unusual for a Doubletree to be an exterior corridor but the weather in phoenix rarely rains so I was not surprised.

The pool is in the center with the courtyard with the rooms full encircling it. This puts the pool into shadow by 4pm (In October) so I couldn't chill out in the after work.

I ate in the restaurant both for dinner and breakfast. The dinner menu is a casual dining menu (burgers, sandwiches, steak). I ordered the Tomato Soup and Open Faced Beef and Gravy Sandwich. My only complaint is the sandwich arrive only two spoonfuls into the soup so it sat getting cold while I ate my appetizer. Breakfast was included in the price and was a buffet style with a full cooked option of bacon, eggs, potatoes as well as cereal, pastries and bread.

I would go back, but I do find the living rooms dark because you have to leave the curtains closed as the window is on the walkway.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CheapEnglishman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManagerphxDT, General Manager at DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. Actually we were never an Embassy Suites although I do understand how you might think so. Thank you again and hopefully you’ll stay with us the next time you visit the Phoenix area.

Sincerely,
Todd D. Wilson
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2011

We stayed at this hotel after spending about 14 hours travelling from the United Kingdom and decided that it was best to get a place to sleep prior to commencing our fly-drive holiday.

What a great decision that turned out to be. The staff to a man/woman were friendly and helpful, the Reception staff helped ensure that our luggage that was briefly ‘lost’ by American Airlines was re-patriated with us overnight and let us know all we needed to about the hotel.

The rooms were very spacious and comfortable and we both got a great night’s sleep on the bed.
The bar was well stocked with a variety of beers and the food that we ate in the bar was very promptly served and great tasting.
Additionally, though a wedding and reception was being held at the hotel during the evening we arrived, you could not hear this in the rooms and did not impact on our stay at all.

We woke early as a result of jet lag and decided to have a swim in the pool, which was very refreshing, as was the comfort of the spa/Jacuzzi.

My only small issue would be with the complimentary breakfast, as it wasn’t completely ‘free’ as a tip was required for the staff, however, I think this is just a cultural difference between the UK and the USA, I’d caveat my comment here by explaining that the Breakfast was a very wide ranging buffet and very tasty.

A hotel I would definitely recommend to you to stay at.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Phoenix hotels
Hilton Phoenix Airport
#17 of 174 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Camelback East
Hampton Inn Phoenix-Airport North
Camelback East
Aloft Phoenix-Airport
Aloft Phoenix-Airport
#40 of 174 in Phoenix
4.0 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central City
Hilton Garden Inn Phoenix Airport North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix

Property: DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix
Address: 320 N 44th St, Phoenix, AZ 85008-6501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Arizona > Central Arizona > Phoenix > Camelback East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Romantic Hotel in Phoenix
#55 Family Hotel in Phoenix
#59 Business Hotel in Phoenix
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix 3.5*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover a resort-style atmosphere less than two miles from Phoenix Airport (PHX) and five miles from downtown Phoenix at the DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix. Getting around is hassle-free at our Phoenix Airport hotel with complimentary airport shuttle service (call hotel directly for pick-up services) and the Metro Light Rail System just one block away. Start every day in style when you choose from our complimentary breakfast buffet at Belvedere's American Grill. Open throughout the day, this restaurant serves a range of modern American favorites in a casual setting. After a busy day, make the most of the warm Arizona sunshine with a swim in the outdoor pool or unwind with a workout in the fully-equipped fitness center. A warm welcome and a warm DoubleTree cookie are waiting for you at this all-suite Phoenix Airport hotel. A private bedroom and a separate seating area with sofa bed give you more flexibility for work or added space for the whole family. Upgrade to a Business Class suite for extra perks including free WiFi, daily drink coupons to Belvedere's, a lap desk, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS and HotelsClick so you can book your DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Hotel Phoenix reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Suites By Hilton Phoenix Hotel Phoenix
Doubletree Hotel Phoenix
Doubletree Phoenix

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing