We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Bliss”

Hot Air Expeditions
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Phoenix Hot Air Balloon Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Hot Air Expeditions we pride ourselves on providing hot air ballooning experiences in the Phoenix/Scottsdale, Arizona. We've been operating locally in the Valley of the Sun for over 26 years and rated the "Best Ballooning in Phoenix" by Fodor's Travel for 22 years in a row! We provide morning flights daily, year-round and sunset flights are offered seasonally, November through March. All flights include gourmet catered fare from Vincents on Camelback, along with a champagne toast and flight certificate. Come check this off of your bucket list with us!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Reviewed April 28, 2014

This past weekend I surprised my mom by showing up to the airport and taking her on an adventures of a lifetime. She had always wanted to go hot air ballooning and we were finally able to cross that off of her bucket list, as well as mine.
From start to finish, every employee had a smile on their face and welcomed us all with excitement and great attitudes. You can absolutely tell their passion for what they do which makes you extremely comfortable with the experience. The breakfast afterwards is also a wonderful perk and a great way to wrap up the fun. Tommy was an excellent pilot and Ryan was an amazing driver, they were very professional and definitely added to the overall experience.
I would definitely recommend Hot Air Expeditions for everyone to try....even coming from someone who is petrified of heights, this is an absolute must do!

Thank Kimi D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotAirExpeditions, Owner at Hot Air Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for joining us up in the air! We are happy you enjoyed your flight with Tommy, he is an amazing pilot and great person with a breadth of knowledge on ballooning and everything Arizona!

Again, we appreciate you joining us and sharing your experience. We hope to see you up in the air again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (891)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

634 - 638 of 902 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2014

Not only was the ride beautiful but we learned a tremendous amount from Captain Walter about ballooning and geology. A must do despite the early start.

Thank Michaela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotAirExpeditions, Owner at Hot Air Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for joining us up in the air! We are happy you enjoyed your flight with Walter, he is an amazing pilot and great person with a breadth of knowledge on ballooning and everything Arizona!

Again, we appreciate you joining us and sharing your experience. We hope to see you up in the air again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

Our week in Arizona was fabulous, but our balloon ride with Hot Air Expeditions was the highlight.
Our pilot, Walter was informative and funny, brunch afterward in the desert was delicious. Even acknowledged my husband's birthday with a banner and cake. I highly recommend this company and would go up with them again when we visit beautiful AZ.

Thank Fred A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotAirExpeditions, Owner at Hot Air Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Thank you for joining us up in the air! We are happy you enjoyed your flight with Walter, he is an amazing pilot and great person with a breadth of knowledge on ballooning and everything Arizona!

Again, we appreciate you joining us and sharing your experience. We hope to see you up in the air again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Took a sunrise balloon ride - bucket list experience was awesome. Crew explained the process, balloon, flight, landing in great detail and answered all questions. Breakfast in the desert after landing was fabulous. Extra touches were great (able to purchase special souvenir; birthday acknowledgements, etc.)

Be sure to bring your camera - many other balloons went up at the same time as we did. Please note there are no restroom facilities available - tour lasted about 3-3.5 hours!

Thank EB S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

There were 15 balloons that went up around the same time that we went. What a sight. There were 13 of us in our basket. The baskets are "sectioned" so you are with who you come with. Peg and I had it best because there were only two of us so got a section to ourselves. The two families of four each had four in their sections...still plenty of room. Our pilot did a good job. We requested to be picked up at our hotel ($30 extra), because we had no car. It worked out very well. We save a few rabbits and several wild pigs....forget what they are really called.

The brunch when we got out of the basket was really nice. They set up tables right where we landed. They put cloth tablecloths down, real forks and cute real plates with hot air balloons on them. We were served orange juice and/or champagne, freshly cut apple wedges, croissants and wonderful cheese and a vegetable quiche. It was really nice. As we were leaving in our van, we spotted about 10 wild donkeys really close to us. That was fun. We were picked up around 5:30AM and returned to our hotel around 10:45AM.

I would highly recommend this company...very professional. We

Thank maggieminn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotAirExpeditions, Owner at Hot Air Expeditions, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2015

Hi Maggie!

Thank you so much for the positive feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your experience with us. Thanks for sharing your experience with others and we look forward to hopefully having you back in the skies with us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Air Expeditions also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Hot Air Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing