We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best part of my trip”

Hot Air Expeditions
Book In Advance
More Info
$179.00*
and up
Phoenix Hot Air Balloon Ride
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: At Hot Air Expeditions we pride ourselves on providing hot air ballooning experiences in the Phoenix/Scottsdale, Arizona. We've been operating locally in the Valley of the Sun for over 26 years and rated the "Best Ballooning in Phoenix" by Fodor's Travel for 22 years in a row! We provide morning flights daily, year-round and sunset flights are offered seasonally, November through March. All flights include gourmet catered fare from Vincents on Camelback, along with a champagne toast and flight certificate. Come check this off of your bucket list with us!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Best part of my trip”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My boyfriend and I booked this fairly last minute after his co-worker insisted that we must go on a hot air balloon ride during our trip to Arizona. I am so glad we did! It was an amazing experience–beautiful, relaxing, fun, scenic. I highly recommend this company. It all felt very safe and routine and our pilot was very entertaining. The champagne and snacks in the dessert during sunset was great too. Don't miss out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank zimgirl725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    721
    61
    17
    11
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Activity”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Every year I visit Phoenix and try to organize an activity for my family. This was a great activity as it was easy and rewarding. The guides were knowledgeable and funny. It was a great bonding experience for my family with ages ranged from 21-57. I have a fear of heights and had no problem at all! It is exciting and then once in the air relaxing and breath taking with the views. Afterwards a champagne toast and snacks that were great. Thank you Hot Air Expeditions!! We will see you again AND recommend you to all!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrookeP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great fun!”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

Well run, fun,and unique experience. Any hot air ballooning is expensive but it's worth a splurge. Out 7 year old loved it. Although the sound of the gas blasting is a little loud - bring ear plugs or notice canceling earphones if anyone in your family has noise sensitivity. They will pick you up and return at the hotel. Plus, at the end of the trip, you get a really nice hot breakfast of quiche, champagne, croissant. And, it's a pretty long ride 1-2 hours. We felt very safe. Great views and you take off with about 10-15 other balloons in the area so you get to see that during takeoff which was beautiful. Would definitely recommend.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank LucyGio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very Smooth Flight”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My family took a sunset flight over the desert outside Phoenix during the Christmas holiday. We booked ahead of time by phone, which was quick and convenient. The ground crew and pilot (Walter) were pleasant and well informed. The flight was surprisingly smooth -- you really couldn't feel the balloon's movement until close to the ground. After the landing, appetizers and champagne were provided while the ground crew packed up the balloon. It was not as cold as we expected in the balloon because the propane burners put off a lot of heat. It is a good idea to wear a long sleeve shirt, jeans, and a hat so that you don't feel the heat when the burner is on.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Recommend with Some Reservations”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

We took our flight on Christmas Eve afternoon and were surprised there were so many others flying as well. There were four balloons including ours that took off at about the same time and 12 of us in our balloon. Making reservations is super easy and I had all my questions answered up front. We drove to the airport to meet the van that would take us to the site. Do be prepared for a very bumpy ride once the van leaves the paved road-this IS the dessert, of course! The driver was polite and a safe driver though took his eyes off the road quite a bit while talking to a passenger. We did not have working seat belts which was a bit disconcerting so just held on to the seat while bouncing around.
Our captain was Walter and appears to be experienced and knowledgeable. He has a very dry/sarcastic sense of humor so if you don't like this, you won't like a ride with him. Deep inside, he is a very nice guy and will pose for photos, etc. and just has a gruff exterior.
I would recommend wearing pants as it requires climbing in & out of basket with a tank top or short sleeved shirt with a sweater. It gets quite warm in the basket with the heat from the flames so you wouldn't want that directly on bare skin. If taking the late afternoon flight, once landing and the sun goes down it is very cold outside and another layer of clothing would have been good to have (a warm jacket or another sweater). The appetizers were so-so and really we would have preferred to just head back instead of sitting outside in the dark eating appetizers we couldn't see plus it was really quite chilly outside. Even though Walter gave a good explanation, it seemed a waste of time to have everyone show their credit cards and sign for payment while outside cold and wait for him to write out flying certificates. I would recommend the company change this and have someone do this while the balloons are being inflated before taking off, not at the end of the trip. All in all, this is a professional company and everyone seems to love what they do which makes for an enjoyable experience. Oh, maybe they should ask people to silence their cell phones before taking off. One woman took a short call while we were in the air-lol

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank zeta2552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Air Expeditions also viewed

 
Phoenix, Central Arizona
Phoenix, Central Arizona
 

Been to Hot Air Expeditions? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing